Cambodian Tapioca-Banana Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Hi. I adapted the recipe as didn't have pearl tapioca. I used 1/2 c organic minute tapioca, 2 c filtered water, 1 can(13.5oz)organic coconut milk, and 2c 2.5 oz mashed ripe organic banana and cooked on stove 12 minutes. I added 3/4 c shredded, unsweetened organic coconut to mix while hot. Let cool in fridge 15 minutes, then added one whole diced fresh pineapple and 6 diced ripe organic bananas. Finished product is yummy and is, I believe, organic, gluten-free, wheat-free, sugar-free, dairy-free, nut-free, soy-free, and vegan (which is fairly remarkable, really). It's delicious. Next time I will add pecans, more shredded coconut (I ran out), and maybe a touch of brown sugar. As it is, it's perfect for the hippy potluck I'm headed to today :-) Great recipe! Thank you! I live in Hawaii and have an abundance of fruit at all times, so this was an amazing way to use up a ton of bananas, coconut,and pineapple. Hooray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This recipe was fantastic - however after reading the review where the person said it took 45 minutes to cook, I decided to soak the tapiaco overnight and my cooked fine as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This is exactly how my mother, who is from Vietnam, used to make it for me when I was a child-YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This was fantastic, just like the pudding in the Vietnamese restaurants. I added 1 1/2 cups (440g) crushed pineapple instead of bananas though, which went really well - pina colada-ish! Next time I would add just a little more tapioca though, just to make it a little less runny, but overall everyone loved it, and it was so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Laurel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I really enjoy this recipe. It's perfect for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Positively delicious! I was searching for a non-smoothie idea to use up a partial can of coconut milk and some bananas and ran across this. I had no tapioca so I adjusted water and used plain rice. I also added a touch of vanilla and did not use salt. Surprisingly fabulous! I thought we would like it. I was not anticipating loving it. I'm eager to try the flavor combination but on a healthier grain as a breakfast option...maybe barley or oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is as basic as it gets. Add whatever fruits you think would compliment the coconut milk. Instead of microwaving, I simmered it for 5-7 minutes then let it sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Good recipe. I love all the ingedients. I didn't follow the recipe exactly as I know the pearls I use cook quite quickly. As with any recipe use sense. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bray, County Wicklow, Ireland
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
im cambodian and we make this sometimes.. its not really supposed to be that thick like pudding you can also make ths with sweet potato or other things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Couldn't find pearl tapioca so used minute tapioca. It was very thin, so I just added more tapioca. Was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States