Cambodian Tapioca-Banana Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Hi. I adapted the recipe as didn't have pearl tapioca. I used 1/2 c organic minute tapioca, 2 c filtered water, 1 can(13.5oz)organic coconut milk, and 2c 2.5 oz mashed ripe organic banana and cooked on stove 12 minutes. I added 3/4 c shredded, unsweetened organic coconut to mix while hot. Let cool in fridge 15 minutes, then added one whole diced fresh pineapple and 6 diced ripe organic bananas. Finished product is yummy and is, I believe, organic, gluten-free, wheat-free, sugar-free, dairy-free, nut-free, soy-free, and vegan (which is fairly remarkable, really). It's delicious. Next time I will add pecans, more shredded coconut (I ran out), and maybe a touch of brown sugar. As it is, it's perfect for the hippy potluck I'm headed to today :-) Great recipe! Thank you! I live in Hawaii and have an abundance of fruit at all times, so this was an amazing way to use up a ton of bananas, coconut,and pineapple. Hooray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Couldn't find pearl tapioca so used minute tapioca. It was very thin, so I just added more tapioca. Was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is as basic as it gets. Add whatever fruits you think would compliment the coconut milk. Instead of microwaving, I simmered it for 5-7 minutes then let it sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I just made this for dessert. There really is no need for all the extra prep work with the tapioca. I used 3/4 of small pearls with 3 cups of water. Bring to boil, reduce to simmer and cover. Stir about 3 times to prevent the pearls from sticking to the pot. It will thicken and look gooey, but no worries. After about 10-15 mins, dump a can of coconut cream/milk and stir. You will be able to see your pearls again after putting in the cononut milk/cream. Try to find a banana variety with thick skin, those cook and taste better. Slice the banana about 3/4" thick and throw it in the pot. Keep the cover on and turn off heat. The banana will continue to cook as the pudding cools--about 10 mins. I cracked a young coconut and used a peeler to get thin slices to mix in the pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaprem Proeung

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I tried this as living in Hawaii I have a lot of bananas in my life...and for whatever reason this didn't work. I didn't like the fact that the consistency was thinner than I thought it should be and really would have liked more coconut milk and less water. Essentially it tasted like pretty sweet banana baby food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Positively delicious! I was searching for a non-smoothie idea to use up a partial can of coconut milk and some bananas and ran across this. I had no tapioca so I adjusted water and used plain rice. I also added a touch of vanilla and did not use salt. Surprisingly fabulous! I thought we would like it. I was not anticipating loving it. I'm eager to try the flavor combination but on a healthier grain as a breakfast option...maybe barley or oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This is delicious, also known as "Jaik-a-Thy". Best if prepared with fresh coconut milk and the starchier SE Asian bananas (cubed pumpkin can also be substituted!). If you are using canned, you may need thin it a bit with water and reduce the sugar a tad. If you are making your own coconut milk, reserve some of the "first milk", later warm it and serve over the chilled pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Will not add as much water next time....good taste but never really thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANNETTE78
Home Town: South Paris, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I like it. I followed the recipe and it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I really enjoy this recipe. It's perfect for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States