Cambodian Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
The soup is fantastic as written, except that I agree with another reviewer; 4 cups of rice would be far too much. 2 is plenty for the amount of soup. It's also really good with some veggies added in - I like adding carrots, red and green bell pepper, and sugar snap peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This was really good. Different, but delicious. I added a few carrots and a red bell pepper. 4 cups of cooked rice was just fine IMO. I also used 1 1/2 spanish pepper instead of the poblanos. It was really good but next time I might use a bit more red curry paste and less yellow curry powder. We will definately make this again, thank you :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
this is wonderful. excellent flavor and something i now consider "comfort" food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I added 3 chopped green peppers and omitted the rice. Awesome recipe, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zimmiezelda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This works well in the crock pot too. Use 1 1/2 quarts of water, and what's nice is you can just put in 1 - 1 1/2 cups of uncooked rice. Now for a magical ingredient to try. Some of you will think it's a bit out of character for this soup, but definitely adds something. I had a half bag of rather stale corn tortilla chips. I threw them in a bowl of the soup and let them soak it up for a couple minutes. WOW! Try it yourself! Loved the soup, this is just another thing to try with it. It could use just a bit less coconut milk in my opinion, since it tends to dominate the flavor. I sauteed the chicken, garlic, peppers and such in balsamic vinegar with the curry powder to impart more flavor to the chicken. Added the coconut milk and cilantro about 10 minutes before serving and also added chopped scallions/green onions for more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This was a huge hit in my house! At first my husband wasn't too keen on the ingredients or idea, but once he was eating it he loved it! My mother LOVED it... she ate two heaping bowls full! I didn't change the recipe except I used one extra chicken breast and as many people suggested, I used just 2 cups of cooked rice. I also diced and sauteed a yellow bell pepper and added it to the mix. Such a good addition! I let it sit on the stove for a couple hours, which thickened it up like a stew and then added a little bit more chicken broth. I served it with pan-fried naan bread. Delicious! I loved the spicy mixed with the sweet. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Was looking for a "different" type of chicken soup and found this. Never tried anything like it, but it sounded interesting. Turned out to be excellent. Whole family liked it. Only thing it may need is a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Excellent recipe! I made the soup exactly as directed, except I left the rice in a separate dish and spooned the soup over it when served. I also added carrots and sweet potato that I boiled in chicken broth beforehand. I'm sure it would be even better with shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This was not very good. The flavors were not balanced. Way too sweet and creamy and lacked a salty componant. I managed to make it fairly decent by adding salt, pepper and a little onion powder. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Absolutely love this. I make no modifications and serve it with na'an bread. SOOOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States