Camarones al Ajillo (Garlic Shrimp) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Yum! I made this for my Puerto Rican girlfriend and she 100% approved! Just a few notes. First, tomato sauce is not the same thing as you'd put on spaghetti. It's actually more of a purée. Look for Goya tomato sauce in little cans. Also, I'm assuming "fresh" shrimp means uncooked. I couldn't find any uncooked shrimp on sale, so I added cooked shrimp, but not until the final 5 minutes when the tomato sauce went in. Any earlier than that and the shrimp will get mushy. I served over white rice, and if you want the full experience, make some plantain slices fried in olive oil as the side. There was a decent amount of leftovers even after 2 large plates each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Oh my goodness. This was great. I used a can of chopped jalapanos instead of green peppers. I will be making this again. It was so easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Prokop

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I made this dish today and it was easy and tastes good, I made some rice beside but i think pasta would suit it better, thank u :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rere

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Great shrimp recipe and so simple. I always like to put a little bit of anchovy paste in when I saute vegetables. You can't tell there are anchovies in there at all, it just gives it a nutty, salty flavor. Very good, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Yummy and very easy to prepare. Taste just like something you order from a Mexican restaurant. I served it with some Spanish rice for a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Latehmocha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I used tomato/basil pasta sauce instead of the regular tomato. I will make this again, and again, and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This was awesome!!!! Great as is, no changes needed. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe. I used red bell pepper instead of green and fresh parsley instead of dried. The cook time is definitely shorter then 20 min - probably more like 13-15 min. I served this recipe with "Best Spanish Rice" from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Big hit at our house! I have made this several times! Quick, easy, and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This was excellent. I prepared the dish exactly as written and served it with Mofongo (from this site, same author of this recipe). If you like garlic, you will love this. Will definitely prepare this lovely, garlicky dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Grilled Garlic and Herb Shrimp

Delicious, fresh garden herb marinated and grilled shrimp.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States