Camarones al Ajillo (Garlic Shrimp) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Milly Suazo
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
YUMM YUMMM YUMMM The only thing I did differently is that instead of the tomato sauce I used 1/4 cup of red cooking wine and 2 tbsp tomato paste (italian style from a tube)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This was excellent. I prepared the dish exactly as written and served it with Mofongo (from this site, same author of this recipe). If you like garlic, you will love this. Will definitely prepare this lovely, garlicky dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This is a very good recipie! I tweaked it a little because my wife does not like tomato sauce, or spicy things. So in place of the sauce I just got a package of Lawrys Sundried tomato and garlic sauce, and Mixed that in. She also does not like spicy as well, so I cut out the peppers and put in paprika in place. But followed the rest of the recipie to a T. I Put it all on a bed of pasta,(would also go well with rice) and It came out with a VERY light Mediterranean taste. Definately season with salt and black pepper at the end, but it came out SO Flavorful! My wife said it was restraunt quality. I am rating this a 5 because this is a very EASY recipie with good results at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Man- these were SO good! Very flavorful and definitely restaurant quality. I didn't have to substute a thing. I'll be making these again very soon as everyone raved about these! Will have to make some white rice next time, for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isis23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Yum! I made this for my Puerto Rican girlfriend and she 100% approved! Just a few notes. First, tomato sauce is not the same thing as you'd put on spaghetti. It's actually more of a purée. Look for Goya tomato sauce in little cans. Also, I'm assuming "fresh" shrimp means uncooked. I couldn't find any uncooked shrimp on sale, so I added cooked shrimp, but not until the final 5 minutes when the tomato sauce went in. Any earlier than that and the shrimp will get mushy. I served over white rice, and if you want the full experience, make some plantain slices fried in olive oil as the side. There was a decent amount of leftovers even after 2 large plates each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aleban
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
My favorite Shrimp dish, makes you want to lick your fingers. Love the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleban
Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Delicioso! I was nervous that the garlic would overpower everything else, but once it was done I thought it tasted fantastic. I upped the red pepper flakes a bit because my fiance loves spicy food, otherwise followed the recipe as written. I'm adding this to my keeper file, gracias latinacook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
very tasty, I used red bell instead of green and fresh parsley (because that's what I had) and reduced the butter, as well as added a jalapeno. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This was awesome!!!! Great as is, no changes needed. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
So good. Don't think I would use all the butter next time. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States