Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2002
I use this recipe all of the time. (The only change I make to the dough portion is that I add some "Italian" seasonings- oregano, garlic powder, and pepper) I make 1 and 1/2 of the recipe, split the dough into 8 pieces, and then flatten and stretch it into small pizza shapes. Then, I put the stuffing in (NO PIZZA SAUCE) and pull all of the sides up and seal all of the toppings inside. (we use motz. and pepperoni for my kids and husband, and I love sauted onions and garlic with motz. and cheddar cheese for my toppings!) I bake them for 20-30 minutes, and then we use pizza sauce to dip them in. My kids would rather have these than delivery pizza! It is their favorite meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyTheChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I admit it, I cheat on these and use store bought cans of pizza dough. One can of dough makes two very large calzones. Then I fill them with the sauce, pepperoni, veggies, salami, cheese, etc. fold over and crimp, brush with melted butter. My family adore these! One thing that I have learned: make sure to buy quality meats, the more quality the less grease that runs off. I always have marinara sauce on the side for dipping. My teenage boys and hubby go gaga over these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Oh My Gosh! This was the bomb at our house. I made the dough and fixings and everyone filled their own to bake. I cut the dough into 6x6" pieces and formed them like "hot pockets". Still munching on leftovers (it makes alot for four) 3 days later! My husband and I fought over the last 1/2. I made the dough ahead & folded it in thirds and refridgerated it while fixing the rest. Pulled it out, puched it down, rolled to final size, sliced, filled, sealed and baked as directed. I also added 1 xtra Tbls. sugar and a 2 second count of olive oil to the dough, and did not do this in a bread machine. Very versatile dough! Outstanding! Easy! Thanks for submitting this recipe!*Also, baking on parchment paper keeps it from sticking, over browning, and makes clean up easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Very, very good!! I, too, made the dough w/o a bread machine. I let it rise for about 30 mins. The dough turned out wonderfully, crispy on the outside, moist on the inside. I sprinkled garlic powder and basil after brushing with butter to add some seasoning and color. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
My family loved these. I only used the dough recipe though and then I added a mixture of ricotta, mozzerella, an egg, chopped spinich, mushrooms, and tomato to fill it. I served it with a side of homemade pasta sauce. My husband LOVED it. I am going to make it again this week. It will definately be a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
So easy and so great! Even made the dough by hand since I do not own a bread machine. I added some oregano, garlic salt and parsley flakes to the dough and it turned out great. Sauted some onion and garlic to add to the pizza sauce and stuffed with veggies instead of meat. Came out very tasty and smelled delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
I use the bread and fill it with everything. Basically you are making your own Hot Pockets, just choose a filling, add cheese, and a sauce if you choose, BBQ is great. Then bake. I make 6 (small) portions for individual size calzones. 4 would be a generous size. This is really easy. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This is our "guests are coming" recipe. Instead of ordering pizza we serve this instead. It looks beautiful, and smells wonderful cooking. Guests will think you're a chef! I'm almost embarassed to say how many times we've had this in the past month! I make the crust in the bread machine. We've tried many stuffings, but pepperoni and extra cheese is our favorite. We like 1 large one better than 2 smaller ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
The first time I made this the dough turned out way too soft and I ended up adding more flour, but my husband REALLY loved the end results, so I made it again, and it turned out fine. I used pepperoni, onions, green peppers, mozzerella and ricotta cheese for the filling, and can't wait to try it with ham and pineapple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States