Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Fantastic! I followed others suggestions. I added Italian seasoning, garlic salt, onion salt and granulated garlic to the dough with garlic and Italian sprinkled on top of the butter. Used one less T. of water. When the dough was done, I put it in a bowl in the fridge for 3 hours while I was gone. We are not fans of pepperoni and so I didn't have any. I made a sloppy joe filling. Rolled dough out as stated and cut it into 4ths. Put a heaping 1/2 cup on each plus cheese, then folded over and under like pie crust and used a fork to seal. Let rest on the stove for 15 minutes. These bake bigger so next time I will cut it into 6 pieces. My dh said "don't make them any other way!" Oh but the ideas are endless. I LOVED the dough, can't wait to dip it in spaghetti sauce. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I have been making a version of this for years. I thought I had made it up in my head! I don't go to all the trouble of the bread flour. I just use crescent rolls and use a rolling pin and did two per can. Always turned out super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Amazing. It's so simple to make yet tastes absolutely wonderful. The second time, I brushed top with olive oil and sprinkled with coarse sea salt. I also added garlic powder and oregano to the dough. Will be a family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Excellent recipe! My husband made sure that I saved it to my recipe box to make it again. I did roll it up like a jelly roll instead of traditional calzone style and it made for a perfect bite each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very yummy recipe, very user friendly for me who is a very inexperienced cook. I used a bread machine and it came out perfect. I would divide into a minimum of 3 portions. I made 1 and it was the size of a loaf of bread. I have a convection oven and 35 minutes was too long at 350. Next time I would limit to 28 minutes. Crispy on the outside and soft/chewy on the inside. thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltokarchuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Dough was excellent. After eating I think next time I will add some garlic (crushed or powder) and maybe more salt. Besides that it came out perfect not soggy at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Yum! Made the dough in the bread machine and split it into two calzones; one with mozzarella and pepperoni the other with spinach, mushroom and mozzarella. I popped the veggies in the micro for 1 minute to soften them up. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This calzone dough was awesome!!! I used the slow cooker buffalo chicken recipe from this site as the filling, with red onions and cheddar cheese. This is definitely way better than store bought dough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was a great dough recipe. The only thing I did different was I added some garlic powder and itallian seasoning to the dough. We made personal size calzones so everyone could fill it with their favorites. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
i just made this an hour ago and it turned out pretty great! my changes: >made the dough by hand >used all purpose flour coz i didn't have bread flour >did not use any milk >added 6 tsp extra virgin olive oil, & 2 Tbsp oregano >let it rise for about 40-50 mins(i forgot it lol) >added about 2 Tbsp of flour after i discovered i forgot it lol >divided into 6 little balls, tried making a rectangular form instead of a circle. >after closing, i brushed with generous melted butter, sprinkled with garlic powder, & oregano, then a lil parmesan(too much will get too salty) my filling: >sauteed 5 cherry tomatoes, 1/4 red onion, 2 tsp garlic powder, 1-2 tsp salt, 1 tbsp honey, sliced vienna sausages(2 small cans) in 1 cup left over spaghetti sauce **added mozarella and cubed sharp cheddar cheese on top of the filling before closing it note: the 3 cups of four yielded 6 huge servings of about 7" each
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States