Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I loved this! Pop it in the bread machine, and go do other things! My two finicky little girls loved this. Just a few minor changes/additions: I needed a BIT more flour, and my husband and I added some ricotta cheese, provelone slices, and thinly sliced ham. I think next time, I'll add some sauteed veggies like onion and peppers! Great Job, D!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Wow, Amazing recipe! My family loves this better than any pizza plaze. I did make one change with the dough, instead of powdered milk and water the recipe calls for, I used 1 Cup water and 1/4 Cup of skim milk. Then filled with our favorites, leaving the sauce on the side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
i LUV this recipe my family actually requests it but 1 question........ has anyone tried to freeze it... put it together but dont cook it then when u want it warm it up?????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bananazrck98

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Oh my gosh!!! Duuuuude this is soooo worth trying!!! This is the most formidable recipe ever witnessed by my eyes. I made this recipe and my husband and kids downed them in 1 hour. Maybe thats because my husband is 453 pounds, and my older daughter is 220 pounds, and my younger son is 376 pounds. I don't know either way I'll bet your butt that your family will love em'. Boo ya!! Please try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This was realley Good! I took out 2/3 cup white flour and replaced it with wheat flour. I also added Italian herbs and spices to the dough. I made the dough in the bread machine then divided it I only maked 1/4 of the dough the rest went to the freezer. I rolled it realley thin and filled it then baked it on my pizza stone. It was readey in 15-20 min. I put cornmeal on the stone to keep it from sticking and it worked accept where the sauce came out on one side it stuck a little. Will use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
ABSOLUTLY BRILLIANT!!! I have never used our bread machine until this recipe. I became inspired after trying these calzones!! They were absolutly wonderful. My husband won't stop raving to his friends about my "homemade calzones". The dough worked perfectly in our high elevation, too! We love supreme pizza in my house, so I added red onion, sausage, canadian bacon, black olives, mushrooms and green pepper. I was a big hit that night. Needless to say, no left overs made it! LOL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Celaya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I am giving this 5 Stars, but I did make some beginner mistakes so I thought I would list my mistakes to help others. First, I follow recipes exactly and think it would have been great. But... I told the hubby what I was putting on it and he said great. Rolled out the dough, put on the sauce, cheeze, pepperoni, olives. Then, he says, hey I want sauteed mushrooms! So, sauteed mushrooms are prepared and added to the prepared calzone. But wait, we are not done, now he wants bacon. So bacon is added. Now, the sauce has run and needs to be dabbed up with paper towels and the dough has risen. So I wrapped and baked. It turned out good, but much larged then any calzone I have every seen. LOL! I am still giving it 5 stars though. Will definately make again, will just make sure "ALL" ingrediants are ready before assembly and once assembly begins, no additions allowed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I didn't make my own dough. I bought pizza dough. And I used other toppings, as well, in addition to the pepperoni. So delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by supercocoa17

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I wanted to try a recipe for beef stew calzones from a past issue of Every Day with Rachael Ray that called for a store-bought dough, but I decided to make my own instead. This recipe for dough was very good. I made the dough by hand, and also used milk in the place of water and dry milk powder, as I didn't have any on hand. This seemed to work just fine, everyone liked them alot. I look forward to trying the filling part of this recipe with the dough in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I use this dough for EVERYTHING! It's so versatile. Like other reviewers I do NOT use a bread machine. I proof the yeast for about 10-15 minutes, mix everything else in, and let rise about 30-45 minutes. Some of our favorite fillings are - Shredded chicken, BBQ sauce, and cheese. Taco meat, refried beans, cheese, salsa and olives Diced Chicken, Chipotle Sauce, bacon, cheese Just to name a few...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States