Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Mrs. Mayfield
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This recipe was delicious. I cut the dough into 4 pieces and filled it with cheddar cheese, parm cheese and ground beef. I added italian seasoning to the mixture to give it more flavor. I didnt have dry milk so I used 1/2t of 1% milk. I will definetely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Moody Afb, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetascandice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Excellent recipe. Easy but very tasty and it allows for a lot of variations. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lorena
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I don't own a bread machine but i think it's not absolutely necessary to have one in this recipe. Added 1/2 water and 1/2 milk (no milk powder), 1 teaspoon granulated garlic, 1 teaspoon dried oregano and a tablespoon olive oil. It's a great base recipe, try different ingredients for the filling. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This is a great recipe. I divided the dough to make four separate calzones. Also, I will add a little less sugar next time, as I thought the dough was a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
When I served this to my husband, he told me "This is the best calzone I've ever had! If we were at a restaurant, I'd say we have to come back here!" I split the dough in half, so that we could each have our own and I could use different fillings. Because I didn't want extra work, I didn't cut the dough and lace it as described. I folded it in half, as I have seen done, and folded over the edges, as though it were a pie. I cut 3 slits on top of each and brushed the top with butter and sprinkled it with garlic powder, oregano and basil. It was absolutely delicious! So good, in fact, that I had to make it a second time a couple of days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I just got my bread machine and have not had much luck with any of the recipes I've tried. I was about ready to just give the thing away. Yesterday, I decided to give it one last shot and made this recipe. I did make a few minor modifications but it was WONDERFUL! I didn't have powdered milk so I used 1/4 cup warm 2% milk in place of 1/4 cup of water. I also took the advice of some of the other reviewers and added 1 tsp. of Italian seasoning and 1 tsp. of garlic to the dough. I checked the doughball at the beginning of the second knead and it looked fine but when I peeked in after it was done kneading, it was a mess. Looked like something had exploded and the dough looked more like pancake batter and was incredibly sticky. It was too late to add anything at that point (it was finished kneading) so I just let it go. When the dough cycle was done, I got some flour on my hands and pulled out a handful of the sticky mess. I kneaded in a little more flour by hand at that point and it suddenly looked just like pizza dough! Since I had to work with the dough in small batches, I made 4 good sized calzones (my husband and I each shared one with one of the kids and we were all full with two whole ones leftover). I did put some pizza sauce inside along with shredded cheese, pepperoni and sausage then folded the dough over and pinched to seal. I cut slits in the top to vent then brushed with melted butter and sprinkled with garlic powder and parmesan cheese. I only had to b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was really, really good. Pizza dough is always such a challenge for me! So sticky. Make sure you use plenty of flour on your surface and rolling pin. I put spinach, mushrooms, basil, sauce, pepperoni and cheese. I was worried about the spinach and mushrooms because they tend to add a lot of liquid on a normal pizza, but the crust held up just fine with no sogginess so that is a bonus. I will be making this again and again. It was tastey and easy and cheap! You can not ask for more than that. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Made this for dinner lastnight and it was all gone by the morning. I made one with sauteed onions and leftover chunks of cooked chicken breasts and moz. cheese. The other one I made with hot calabrese, hot capocollo, pepper salame, and mozz. cheese. I also added pizza seasoning I made and store in a bottle (oregano, basil,onion flakes, garlic pwdr,thyme, blk pepper, and salt) to the dough. I took a few of the pointers of brushing the dough with the garlic butter and it was very yummy! Kids like to dip theres in marinara or pizza sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittie24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Very good recipe. I added a pound of sausage along with the pepperoni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States