Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
The first time I made this the dough turned out way too soft and I ended up adding more flour, but my husband REALLY loved the end results, so I made it again, and it turned out fine. I used pepperoni, onions, green peppers, mozzerella and ricotta cheese for the filling, and can't wait to try it with ham and pineapple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
So easy and so great! Even made the dough by hand since I do not own a bread machine. I added some oregano, garlic salt and parsley flakes to the dough and it turned out great. Sauted some onion and garlic to add to the pizza sauce and stuffed with veggies instead of meat. Came out very tasty and smelled delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This is our "guests are coming" recipe. Instead of ordering pizza we serve this instead. It looks beautiful, and smells wonderful cooking. Guests will think you're a chef! I'm almost embarassed to say how many times we've had this in the past month! I make the crust in the bread machine. We've tried many stuffings, but pepperoni and extra cheese is our favorite. We like 1 large one better than 2 smaller ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
Thanks for the easy dough recipe. My picky stepson loves calzones. Tonight i'm going to try stuffing with cheese only and brushing with garlic butter and parmesson cheese and cut into bread stick sizes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
This recipe was great. My husband and I both agreed this was the best homemade calzone crust we've eaten! This one definitely goes into my recipe box. NOTE: I have now made this with both all-purpose flour by itself and all-purpose flour with gluten added (to simulate bread flour). I prefer it with just all-purpose flour. It makes for a pizza-ier crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
I use this recipe all of the time. (The only change I make to the dough portion is that I add some "Italian" seasonings- oregano, garlic powder, and pepper) I make 1 and 1/2 of the recipe, split the dough into 8 pieces, and then flatten and stretch it into small pizza shapes. Then, I put the stuffing in (NO PIZZA SAUCE) and pull all of the sides up and seal all of the toppings inside. (we use motz. and pepperoni for my kids and husband, and I love sauted onions and garlic with motz. and cheddar cheese for my toppings!) I bake them for 20-30 minutes, and then we use pizza sauce to dip them in. My kids would rather have these than delivery pizza! It is their favorite meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyTheChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Very, very good!! I, too, made the dough w/o a bread machine. I let it rise for about 30 mins. The dough turned out wonderfully, crispy on the outside, moist on the inside. I sprinkled garlic powder and basil after brushing with butter to add some seasoning and color. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
My family loved these. I only used the dough recipe though and then I added a mixture of ricotta, mozzerella, an egg, chopped spinich, mushrooms, and tomato to fill it. I served it with a side of homemade pasta sauce. My husband LOVED it. I am going to make it again this week. It will definately be a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
This makes a great calzone! After rolling the dough out, I put the filling down the center as called for in the recipe then I folded the short ends in about an inch and brought the long ends to meet in the center and folded them together to seal. Then I made several slits on either side of the center to vent. This seemed easier than criss-crossing and it turned out beautiful.In fact my family liked it so well that I had to make a second one for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States