Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Absolutely INCREDIBLE! And much easier than I thought it would be. I increased the recipe by 50%, and it made two very large calzones...one "everything" for the adults, and then a plain pepperoni & cheese for the younger crowd. Sauce on the side for dipping. Everyone LOVED it, and I'll definately be repeating the performance often now. Try this one. You'll definately be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I added some herbs and spices to my dough and the crowd cheered. Wasnt bad leftovers either:) I might rise it a little next time tho... just to make it lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This was an awesome dish!!! It was worth more then the 5 stars I gave it. The ONLY problem that I came to was the fact that even though this recipe was basically for a bread machine; the yeast that was mentioned in the recipe was not bread machine yeast. The recommended amount for active dry yeast is different then bread machine yeast in any bread maker that I have ever used. I was just really surprised that NO ONE (that I saw anyway) mentioned the conversion. I hate fractions with a passion so, I will help the next cook who only has bread machine yeast and not active dry, on hand. Recipe calls for 2 teaspoons of active dry yeast.... use 1 1/3 teaspoons of bread machine yeast and it will come out PERFECT! If you don't have a 1/3 teaspoon, just use a heaping 1/4 teaspoon and you will be good to go. Another poster mentioned that the calzone was doughy. If you follow the recipe exactly, (you may need to add a little extra flour, I did) then you will NOT be disappointed. We stuffed ours with pepperoni and onions and it was out of this world. After I put it in the oven and it began to bake, I brushed melted butter onto it and sprinkled dry basil, garlic powder and black pepper on it. (Another poster mentioned she added herbs to the dough but didn't really taste them. We tasted ours but it was not over powering, just the right amount. This was by far the best calzone I ever had and I will make many more times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
The dough has great texture, but tastes bland, non-descript. I made the dough exactly as indicated, and it made two huge calzones--each calzone will be two to three servings per adult (four to six total meals). I filled mine with ricotta, mozzarella, spinach and I put the same on my husband's but added mushrooms and pepperoni as well. Cooking time was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
really good, family loved it thanks for the recipe. I made it with mushrooms, onions and mozza and then just closed them in half, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Epicurelady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I used this dough to make four generous calzones in the traditional semi-circle shape. Each was completely devoured! Go light on the pizza sauce (or leave it out and just use some for dipping) or it will tend to squish out the sides when you seal the dough. I used a variety of fillings according the to taste of the person who would be eating the calzone (mine was ham, genoa salami, pepperoni, mushrooms, pepper rings, and cheese. Delicious combo!) I cut three 1" vents in the top of the calzone before baking, plus I used the melted butter, a light sprinkling of pizza seasoning herbs, and a light sprinkle of freshly grated parmesan. Very good! I baked them the same way I bake pizza--on a pizza stone in a 450 degree over for 15 minutes. They were beautifully done, golden brown and not too doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Great-my daughter and her friends ate them as fast as I got them done. This one is keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This is a terrific recipe. I did try what one poster said & cooked at a higher temp for less time - would NOT do that again. Had "cajun" calzone. Next time I'll follow the cooking instructions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Depoe Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I loved these. I put alittle bit of spices in the dough, I couln't even tell. I made six Calzones, my husband and I like alot of different things [ mushrooms, onions, etc.] My son likes pizza pretty simple, cheese and sausage. So this way I could make them different for everyone [thank you for that idea]. I loved the dough, I used a TBLS. of Splenda for the sugar, I liked the sweetness it gave. Crust wasn't to chewy or to hard, just right. I can't wait to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Yummy! I have made this several times and use the recipe for Easy Pizza Sauce III and whatever is available for toppings. I don't have the patience to do the crisscross pattern so I fold them over like a pastie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States