Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Amazing. It's so simple to make yet tastes absolutely wonderful. The second time, I brushed top with olive oil and sprinkled with coarse sea salt. I also added garlic powder and oregano to the dough. Will be a family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Excellent recipe! My husband made sure that I saved it to my recipe box to make it again. I did roll it up like a jelly roll instead of traditional calzone style and it made for a perfect bite each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very yummy recipe, very user friendly for me who is a very inexperienced cook. I used a bread machine and it came out perfect. I would divide into a minimum of 3 portions. I made 1 and it was the size of a loaf of bread. I have a convection oven and 35 minutes was too long at 350. Next time I would limit to 28 minutes. Crispy on the outside and soft/chewy on the inside. thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltokarchuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Dough was excellent. After eating I think next time I will add some garlic (crushed or powder) and maybe more salt. Besides that it came out perfect not soggy at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Yum! Made the dough in the bread machine and split it into two calzones; one with mozzarella and pepperoni the other with spinach, mushroom and mozzarella. I popped the veggies in the micro for 1 minute to soften them up. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This calzone dough was awesome!!! I used the slow cooker buffalo chicken recipe from this site as the filling, with red onions and cheddar cheese. This is definitely way better than store bought dough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was a great dough recipe. The only thing I did different was I added some garlic powder and itallian seasoning to the dough. We made personal size calzones so everyone could fill it with their favorites. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
i just made this an hour ago and it turned out pretty great! my changes: >made the dough by hand >used all purpose flour coz i didn't have bread flour >did not use any milk >added 6 tsp extra virgin olive oil, & 2 Tbsp oregano >let it rise for about 40-50 mins(i forgot it lol) >added about 2 Tbsp of flour after i discovered i forgot it lol >divided into 6 little balls, tried making a rectangular form instead of a circle. >after closing, i brushed with generous melted butter, sprinkled with garlic powder, & oregano, then a lil parmesan(too much will get too salty) my filling: >sauteed 5 cherry tomatoes, 1/4 red onion, 2 tsp garlic powder, 1-2 tsp salt, 1 tbsp honey, sliced vienna sausages(2 small cans) in 1 cup left over spaghetti sauce **added mozarella and cubed sharp cheddar cheese on top of the filling before closing it note: the 3 cups of four yielded 6 huge servings of about 7" each
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Can also use frozen or refridgerated pizza dough if you don't have a bread machine (like me), very yummy & simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This is the first homemade dough I have ever made. It turned out perfect, even my 7 year old who doesn't like the crust on pizza, ate it and liked it. I'll use this recipe many more times. I didn't use a machine, but did it by hand. Kneaded the dough for about 11 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States