Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Very good. The dough came out a bit thick, but that's an easy fix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is such a good calzone recipe and it is SOO much fun to make. It looks like restaurant quality when it comes out of the oven- my family loved it! Thank you for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
It is a little difficult to eat due to the toughness of the bread but it was good. I am glad I sprinkled the bread with garlic powder before baking because the bread wouldn't have had any flavor otherwise. It was much easier to eat reheated the next day when the bread was a little softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air force wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
easy and yummy...i doubled the recipe which made 2 big calzones and gave us some leftovers for lunch. Also used mozzarella cheese and cheddar cheese mixed. to cut the dough tomake the braid I cut it about 10 times on each side. After basting with melted butter I sprinkled garlic seasoning on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny in China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I added turkey pepperoni and a little spinach... awesome. My husband it looked too good to eat...well almost because he almost forgot to save some for me and ate it all. You can put almost anything inside. I might try broccoli and cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abirleffi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Yum! Husband and I loved this recipe! The dough makes an awesome crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shampooza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Absolutely INCREDIBLE! And much easier than I thought it would be. I increased the recipe by 50%, and it made two very large calzones...one "everything" for the adults, and then a plain pepperoni & cheese for the younger crowd. Sauce on the side for dipping. Everyone LOVED it, and I'll definately be repeating the performance often now. Try this one. You'll definately be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I added some herbs and spices to my dough and the crowd cheered. Wasnt bad leftovers either:) I might rise it a little next time tho... just to make it lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This was an awesome dish!!! It was worth more then the 5 stars I gave it. The ONLY problem that I came to was the fact that even though this recipe was basically for a bread machine; the yeast that was mentioned in the recipe was not bread machine yeast. The recommended amount for active dry yeast is different then bread machine yeast in any bread maker that I have ever used. I was just really surprised that NO ONE (that I saw anyway) mentioned the conversion. I hate fractions with a passion so, I will help the next cook who only has bread machine yeast and not active dry, on hand. Recipe calls for 2 teaspoons of active dry yeast.... use 1 1/3 teaspoons of bread machine yeast and it will come out PERFECT! If you don't have a 1/3 teaspoon, just use a heaping 1/4 teaspoon and you will be good to go. Another poster mentioned that the calzone was doughy. If you follow the recipe exactly, (you may need to add a little extra flour, I did) then you will NOT be disappointed. We stuffed ours with pepperoni and onions and it was out of this world. After I put it in the oven and it began to bake, I brushed melted butter onto it and sprinkled dry basil, garlic powder and black pepper on it. (Another poster mentioned she added herbs to the dough but didn't really taste them. We tasted ours but it was not over powering, just the right amount. This was by far the best calzone I ever had and I will make many more times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
The dough has great texture, but tastes bland, non-descript. I made the dough exactly as indicated, and it made two huge calzones--each calzone will be two to three servings per adult (four to six total meals). I filled mine with ricotta, mozzarella, spinach and I put the same on my husband's but added mushrooms and pepperoni as well. Cooking time was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States