Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by emma
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Wow, made the dough exactly as written except made it by hand...SO GOOD. Ive made a lot of doughs, this has turned out the best so far :D:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Loved it! Easy to make and easy to customize the filling for each persons taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Great! I made the dough, but added different ingredients. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by August Kenza

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Tasted just like a pizza pop! I added mushrooms and redbell pepper. Also I brushed with melted butter on top cause I like the salty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Came out great!! i have had requests to make more :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Great recipe! Per other reviewers, I added oregano, basil and garlic powder to the dough. SO good. As for the filling, we used spinach, mushrooms, ricotta and mozzarella and had marinara sauce on the side for dipping. We will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This is the best recipe for calzones that my husband and I have ever tasted. We wonder if it originally came from an italian cook. Regardless we use this recipe EVERY SINGLE TIME!!!! IT IS TOTALLY THE BEST RECIPE EVER!!!!! We use this same recipe for calzones, pizza and my husband even uses this recipe for pizza that he cooks on the BBQ!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
My husband raved out these calzones. I used a stand mixer with a dough hook attachment instead of a bread machine. I allowed the dough to rise in a warm oven and then rolled out the dough. I also added some dried basil, oregano, and a pinch of garlic powder to the dough. I made two large rectangular calzones and had left over dough. I sealed the dough and froze it for future use. In the calzone I added some ricotta cheese to the mix. Its a versatile dough so you could be creative with the filling. My husband requests that we have these again soon. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I think this is a pretty decent recipe, and I will most definitely make it again. That being said, I did make some changes to the recipe: I let the dough rest for 30 min. after it came out of the bread machine because it was too elastic to roll out right away. I also folded in some garlic powder, salt, and crumbled Italian herbs into the dough before I rolled it out. I put garlic powder into the melted butter that I brushed on top, and I sprinkled grated parmesan cheese on top of that. I thought the calzone was just a touch too bready, so next time I will discard about a third of the dough before rolling it out to make the ratio more to my liking. This is a fun recipe to play with! EDITED TO ADD: I decided that I didn't want to throw out the extra dough, so I ended up splitting the dough in half to make 2 separate calzones for us all. Worked out beautifully and eliminated the waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Excellent! I was looking for a new calzone dough recipe & this was perfect ~ much better than the one I had been using. I didn't criss cross the dough ~ just folded it over ~ & it turned out just fine. Also sprinkled some Parmesan cheese on top after brushing with butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States