Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This is the first homemade dough I have ever made. It turned out perfect, even my 7 year old who doesn't like the crust on pizza, ate it and liked it. I'll use this recipe many more times. I didn't use a machine, but did it by hand. Kneaded the dough for about 11 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was a delicious dough! The only thing I didn't have was dry milk powder, but luckily a neighbor had a tsp I could use:) I too made the dough by hand, and added Italian seasoning before rolling it out. Then I made individual hot-pocket type calzones and filled them with sausage, sauteed green pepper, garlic and onion, pepperoni, mozerella cheese and sliced black olives. Right before I took them out of the oven, I sprinkled on some mozerella cheese and a little more Italian seasoning, so that it melted on top. Loved the crust when it came out...crispy but soft on the inside. I dipped in marinara sauce. Next time I'm going to try a spinach and ricotta combination. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emma
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Wow, made the dough exactly as written except made it by hand...SO GOOD. Ive made a lot of doughs, this has turned out the best so far :D:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Loved it! Easy to make and easy to customize the filling for each persons taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Great! I made the dough, but added different ingredients. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by August Kenza

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Tasted just like a pizza pop! I added mushrooms and redbell pepper. Also I brushed with melted butter on top cause I like the salty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Came out great!! i have had requests to make more :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Great recipe! Per other reviewers, I added oregano, basil and garlic powder to the dough. SO good. As for the filling, we used spinach, mushrooms, ricotta and mozzarella and had marinara sauce on the side for dipping. We will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This is the best recipe for calzones that my husband and I have ever tasted. We wonder if it originally came from an italian cook. Regardless we use this recipe EVERY SINGLE TIME!!!! IT IS TOTALLY THE BEST RECIPE EVER!!!!! We use this same recipe for calzones, pizza and my husband even uses this recipe for pizza that he cooks on the BBQ!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
My husband raved out these calzones. I used a stand mixer with a dough hook attachment instead of a bread machine. I allowed the dough to rise in a warm oven and then rolled out the dough. I also added some dried basil, oregano, and a pinch of garlic powder to the dough. I made two large rectangular calzones and had left over dough. I sealed the dough and froze it for future use. In the calzone I added some ricotta cheese to the mix. Its a versatile dough so you could be creative with the filling. My husband requests that we have these again soon. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States