Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This is our "guests are coming" recipe. Instead of ordering pizza we serve this instead. It looks beautiful, and smells wonderful cooking. Guests will think you're a chef! I'm almost embarassed to say how many times we've had this in the past month! I make the crust in the bread machine. We've tried many stuffings, but pepperoni and extra cheese is our favorite. We like 1 large one better than 2 smaller ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
So easy and so great! Even made the dough by hand since I do not own a bread machine. I added some oregano, garlic salt and parsley flakes to the dough and it turned out great. Sauted some onion and garlic to add to the pizza sauce and stuffed with veggies instead of meat. Came out very tasty and smelled delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
I use this recipe all of the time. (The only change I make to the dough portion is that I add some "Italian" seasonings- oregano, garlic powder, and pepper) I make 1 and 1/2 of the recipe, split the dough into 8 pieces, and then flatten and stretch it into small pizza shapes. Then, I put the stuffing in (NO PIZZA SAUCE) and pull all of the sides up and seal all of the toppings inside. (we use motz. and pepperoni for my kids and husband, and I love sauted onions and garlic with motz. and cheddar cheese for my toppings!) I bake them for 20-30 minutes, and then we use pizza sauce to dip them in. My kids would rather have these than delivery pizza! It is their favorite meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyTheChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
This recipe was great. My husband and I both agreed this was the best homemade calzone crust we've eaten! This one definitely goes into my recipe box. NOTE: I have now made this with both all-purpose flour by itself and all-purpose flour with gluten added (to simulate bread flour). I prefer it with just all-purpose flour. It makes for a pizza-ier crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
Thanks for the easy dough recipe. My picky stepson loves calzones. Tonight i'm going to try stuffing with cheese only and brushing with garlic butter and parmesson cheese and cut into bread stick sizes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
The first time I made this the dough turned out way too soft and I ended up adding more flour, but my husband REALLY loved the end results, so I made it again, and it turned out fine. I used pepperoni, onions, green peppers, mozzerella and ricotta cheese for the filling, and can't wait to try it with ham and pineapple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
I use the bread and fill it with everything. Basically you are making your own Hot Pockets, just choose a filling, add cheese, and a sauce if you choose, BBQ is great. Then bake. I make 6 (small) portions for individual size calzones. 4 would be a generous size. This is really easy. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
Found that I would rather make a pizza, these recipe was more of a hassle plus there is too much 'crust' for my likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibsons, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
This is GREAT!!!! I made Five for Mother's Day party. Since it was so easy I made copies of the recipe and set them nearby... every one loved it. Great for a party and can be made ahead. Great cold too!!! Thanks D. Adams for the wonderful recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States