Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
I made this last night and it was very good. I needed to adjust the sauce and cheese for the second one(I didn't measure, just eye-balled it). Like others have said I made 2 instead of one large and the crust was very good, my husband liked it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
My family loved this. I followed the recipe to the letter, using my bread machine and the dough was great, very easy to handle. Once rolled out the dough (before folding over) basically covered the entire cookie sheet (which just barely fits inside my oven wall to wall). I live at a fairly high altitude and found that baking at 350 was too high, the calzone was starting to burn on the bottom after only 10 minutes, the second time I turned the heat down to 300 and baked for 35 min with the first 17 minutes with the heat coming from the bottom and then switching to the heat coming from the top, which turned out perfect and tender. I think next time I might not bother folding it over, might just use it as pizza dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Made plenty of dough with the original recipe. Came out with bell peppers, pepperoni, sausage, and cheese filling and created two of the best 5x12 calzones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I admit it, I cheat on these and use store bought cans of pizza dough. One can of dough makes two very large calzones. Then I fill them with the sauce, pepperoni, veggies, salami, cheese, etc. fold over and crimp, brush with melted butter. My family adore these! One thing that I have learned: make sure to buy quality meats, the more quality the less grease that runs off. I always have marinara sauce on the side for dipping. My teenage boys and hubby go gaga over these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
My family loved this recipe! I used more filling and extra cheese. Brushed it with garlic butter and it disapeared! Needless to say, we didnt have any left to freeze. Im just wondering what to fill the next batch with...maybe alfredo or phili cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
Great recipe but be prepared to have a lot of food. I cut the recipe in half and made two regular calzones. It was still too much for my husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
good, even half the recipe gave too much dough for one calzone. Half the recipe will make 2 reg. sized calzones. I just folded the calzones in half instead of layering the sides over each other, still worked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
Warning: This made SOOOOO much food!! I expected to use the recipe "as is", except make two regular calzones, instead of one giant one, and I ended up making two giant ones! The taste was good, but next time I'm going to use more filling. I felt like the ratio of bread to filling wasn't even. I also made extra pizza sauce for dipping the calzones in, and it made it a lot better. I really like the recipe for its versatiliy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
Simple and quick, just what every busy wife needs. Loved the calzones and will share this recipe with others. Thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States