Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
We made just one calzone with this recipe. It was a hit with the family. We stuffed ours with a pepperoni and seasoned ground beef mix. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mosinee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
The calzone turned out very nice. The dough was perfect, easy to work with. The kids loved it (13-19 year olds). I made two calzones for five people, had half of one left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Wonderful recipe!! Will use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Hans

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Just used the dough recipe and our own fillings, this was a great dinner! I made two calzones, one as written that turned out really pretty (for a dinner item) and one like the traditional looking calzone. My husband liked them too, many possibilities with this recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Very easy and sooo delicious. Good as leftovers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailey5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Oh My Gosh! This was the bomb at our house. I made the dough and fixings and everyone filled their own to bake. I cut the dough into 6x6" pieces and formed them like "hot pockets". Still munching on leftovers (it makes alot for four) 3 days later! My husband and I fought over the last 1/2. I made the dough ahead & folded it in thirds and refridgerated it while fixing the rest. Pulled it out, puched it down, rolled to final size, sliced, filled, sealed and baked as directed. I also added 1 xtra Tbls. sugar and a 2 second count of olive oil to the dough, and did not do this in a bread machine. Very versatile dough! Outstanding! Easy! Thanks for submitting this recipe!*Also, baking on parchment paper keeps it from sticking, over browning, and makes clean up easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This was all right, but it stuck to the pan and it just wasn't anything spectacular. If we make this again, we'll add more ingredients and put foil under the crust to make it easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: White Salmon, Washington, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
I made this last night and it was very good. I needed to adjust the sauce and cheese for the second one(I didn't measure, just eye-balled it). Like others have said I made 2 instead of one large and the crust was very good, my husband liked it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
My family loved this. I followed the recipe to the letter, using my bread machine and the dough was great, very easy to handle. Once rolled out the dough (before folding over) basically covered the entire cookie sheet (which just barely fits inside my oven wall to wall). I live at a fairly high altitude and found that baking at 350 was too high, the calzone was starting to burn on the bottom after only 10 minutes, the second time I turned the heat down to 300 and baked for 35 min with the first 17 minutes with the heat coming from the bottom and then switching to the heat coming from the top, which turned out perfect and tender. I think next time I might not bother folding it over, might just use it as pizza dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States