Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
We liked this. The dough was very good. For my filling, I used 1/2 C ricotta instead of tomato sauce (real calzones don't have tomato sauce in them, you are supposed to dip it in the sauce that is on the side). 1 1/2 C. mozzarella, 1/2 C Italian sausage, & 1/2 C broccoli. I added 1/8 t each of oregano, parsley, garlic powder & pepper but will prob make more next time. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This was very good. Add some garlic salt after I buttered the top. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
We made just one calzone with this recipe. It was a hit with the family. We stuffed ours with a pepperoni and seasoned ground beef mix. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mosinee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
The calzone turned out very nice. The dough was perfect, easy to work with. The kids loved it (13-19 year olds). I made two calzones for five people, had half of one left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Wonderful recipe!! Will use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Hans

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Just used the dough recipe and our own fillings, this was a great dinner! I made two calzones, one as written that turned out really pretty (for a dinner item) and one like the traditional looking calzone. My husband liked them too, many possibilities with this recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Very easy and sooo delicious. Good as leftovers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailey5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Oh My Gosh! This was the bomb at our house. I made the dough and fixings and everyone filled their own to bake. I cut the dough into 6x6" pieces and formed them like "hot pockets". Still munching on leftovers (it makes alot for four) 3 days later! My husband and I fought over the last 1/2. I made the dough ahead & folded it in thirds and refridgerated it while fixing the rest. Pulled it out, puched it down, rolled to final size, sliced, filled, sealed and baked as directed. I also added 1 xtra Tbls. sugar and a 2 second count of olive oil to the dough, and did not do this in a bread machine. Very versatile dough! Outstanding! Easy! Thanks for submitting this recipe!*Also, baking on parchment paper keeps it from sticking, over browning, and makes clean up easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This was all right, but it stuck to the pan and it just wasn't anything spectacular. If we make this again, we'll add more ingredients and put foil under the crust to make it easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: White Salmon, Washington, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States