Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was really, really good. Pizza dough is always such a challenge for me! So sticky. Make sure you use plenty of flour on your surface and rolling pin. I put spinach, mushrooms, basil, sauce, pepperoni and cheese. I was worried about the spinach and mushrooms because they tend to add a lot of liquid on a normal pizza, but the crust held up just fine with no sogginess so that is a bonus. I will be making this again and again. It was tastey and easy and cheap! You can not ask for more than that. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Made this for dinner lastnight and it was all gone by the morning. I made one with sauteed onions and leftover chunks of cooked chicken breasts and moz. cheese. The other one I made with hot calabrese, hot capocollo, pepper salame, and mozz. cheese. I also added pizza seasoning I made and store in a bottle (oregano, basil,onion flakes, garlic pwdr,thyme, blk pepper, and salt) to the dough. I took a few of the pointers of brushing the dough with the garlic butter and it was very yummy! Kids like to dip theres in marinara or pizza sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittie24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Very good recipe. I added a pound of sausage along with the pepperoni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I love this recipe and so does my family!! I get three calzones out of this recipe,just roll the dough very thin, but we like our crust a thinner. I add seasonings to the crust too,from dried garlic to a dired tomato basil seasoning for a better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Tepfer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This is an awesome recipe! The only changes I made was to add pizza seasonings to the dough and it turned out great! Make sure you roll the crust out thin otherwise it will be VERY thick when it is finished cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monic368

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
One of my families favorites. We add our own toppings and leave out the sauce, then cover with garlic butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Very good. The guys loved it although they said the crust to topping ratio was off... so next time I'm going to overlap the dough less when wrapping the toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
i made this last night and my husband LOVED it! he said it tasted like our pizza parlor's calzones back home. we stuffed it with mozz, pepperoni and ham. i also added some chopped garlic to the dough, which i made in our bread machine. some friends stopped by while we were having dinner and they ate the rest and loved it as well. we'll definately use this recipe often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kleerae

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Yummy! This is so easy. Like others - I add ingredients like grated cheese and garlic powder to the dough. My family loves this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
My kids and I love this recipe, although the dough is a little bland if you follow the recipe exactly. I like to spice it up with some herbs and cheese sprinkled on after brushing with melted butter. Makes great pizza dough and breadsticks, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States