Calypso Rice and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2001
I loved this tasty side dish, however, the rice was a little gummy and I will reduce the cooking time to a total of 20 minutes the next time I make it. It was very good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2001
Very nice side dish. Something different with lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
This is really good. Use a big pot, because recipe makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
We loved this dish. I served it with broiled tilapia and steamed broccoli, and it was fabulous. I used canned black beans, which cut down preparation time significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
I really liked this recipe. I did cheat and use canned black beans and added some extra cilantro-but other than that I followed the recipe. It does make quite a bit so half the recipe if you are only feeding a couple people (unless you want lots of leftovers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
This is a great recipe! I am lazy, so I use canned beans instead, but the flavor is great. Serve with barbequed pineapple and Jay's Jerk Chicken and your company will love you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
ive made this recipe twice now. both times i used a full can of black beans and skipped that 12 minutes of cooking time at the end, and this time i used a can of drained crushed pineapple instead of spears. i love the flavors, and the dish looks very festive and tropical. wonderful flavors, worth the work. it makes ALOT. great for dinner parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Hit the spot and worked very well with the cajun steak and mexican cornbread that were served at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Absolutely delish! I made the rice with vegetable broth instead of water, and substituted a little sage and lime zest for the coriander I didn't have. This was a great base for a meal with my non-vegan boyfriend. He had pineapple grilled pork chops, I had grilled tofu chunks on top. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I really like this dish. I serve it alongside grilled kabobs of chicken, red peppers, onion, and fresh pineapple. I marinate the chicken with some jerk seasoning. Served with a tropical drink (preferrebly including rum!), and I feel like I'm in the Carribean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States