Calypso Rice and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2003
This recipe tastes wonderful, but looks awful. The beans turned the white rice to a dull gray color. Next time I think I will cook the rice separately from the beans, and then mix them together at the last minute. This recipe also needed more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
This dish smelled incredible during cooking but was somehow a little bland when eaten. Not really worth the prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
This is really good. Use a big pot, because recipe makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
I really liked this recipe. I did cheat and use canned black beans and added some extra cilantro-but other than that I followed the recipe. It does make quite a bit so half the recipe if you are only feeding a couple people (unless you want lots of leftovers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
This was a very tasty recipe. The ingredients went well together for a very fresh, citrus-y taste. I used 15 oz. canned beans, and doubled the coriander & cumin. I can't wait to try it again with fish or chicken. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
We loved this dish. I served it with broiled tilapia and steamed broccoli, and it was fabulous. I used canned black beans, which cut down preparation time significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
This just didn't work. It takes far too long to prepare. The black beans and rice is not a good combination. Plus even at half a recipe it makes enough for ten. Not tasty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2001
Very nice side dish. Something different with lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2001
I loved this tasty side dish, however, the rice was a little gummy and I will reduce the cooking time to a total of 20 minutes the next time I make it. It was very good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
This is a great recipe! I am lazy, so I use canned beans instead, but the flavor is great. Serve with barbequed pineapple and Jay's Jerk Chicken and your company will love you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States