Calypso Rice and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2003
This recipe tastes wonderful, but looks awful. The beans turned the white rice to a dull gray color. Next time I think I will cook the rice separately from the beans, and then mix them together at the last minute. This recipe also needed more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
This dish smelled incredible during cooking but was somehow a little bland when eaten. Not really worth the prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
This is really good. Use a big pot, because recipe makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
I really liked this recipe. I did cheat and use canned black beans and added some extra cilantro-but other than that I followed the recipe. It does make quite a bit so half the recipe if you are only feeding a couple people (unless you want lots of leftovers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
This was a very tasty recipe. The ingredients went well together for a very fresh, citrus-y taste. I used 15 oz. canned beans, and doubled the coriander & cumin. I can't wait to try it again with fish or chicken. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
We loved this dish. I served it with broiled tilapia and steamed broccoli, and it was fabulous. I used canned black beans, which cut down preparation time significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
This just didn't work. It takes far too long to prepare. The black beans and rice is not a good combination. Plus even at half a recipe it makes enough for ten. Not tasty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2001
Very nice side dish. Something different with lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2001
I loved this tasty side dish, however, the rice was a little gummy and I will reduce the cooking time to a total of 20 minutes the next time I make it. It was very good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
This is a great recipe! I am lazy, so I use canned beans instead, but the flavor is great. Serve with barbequed pineapple and Jay's Jerk Chicken and your company will love you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States