Calypso Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Perfect! We made some modifications to make this one quick and easy for us by using our slowcooker: dumped 2 cans of beans with liquid. measured out one mango worth of frozen pineapple, mango, and peaches, slow cooked on high for 1 1/2 hrs. After 1 1/2 hrs. added in bannana. Then, cooked for another 1 hr. Also, used 1 tsp. ginger, 1 TBS. coconut oil instead of olive oil. We didn't have any coconut milk on hand. Added an extra 1/2 cup of water. Placed little food processor next to slowcooker and strained out the fruit and some of the veggies and chopped them in it. We used a vegetable broth that contained oregano, but it didn't hurt the flavor at all. Garnish with one TBS. cilantro and diced yellow pepper. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This is an awesome blend of flavors - don't be afraid of the combination. It's very satisfying and even my kids loved it. I didn't find I needed to puree the soup; it was cooked down pretty well on its own and we liked the small chunks of beans that were left. Thanks, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This soup is my new favorite black bean recipe. I used 4 cloves of garlic and 3 cans of beans. I pureed the fruit with a little water in the blender instead of cooking to soften,(banana was very ripe). I had to make myself add that fruit but it absolutely made the soup. I also didn't puree the entire soup, just used the stick blender and gave it a quick buzz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Turned out exactly as I imagined it would. Very tasty! I didn't alter the recipe, but next time I'll add more hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flossy sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
My husband and I both really like this soup. I suggest going light on the banana and heavy on the hot sauce! It could also use an extra can of beans to be thicker, but is great as-is too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
absolutely delicious! it takes a little time to prepare, but it is well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Husband thought this was better than average, I thought it was GREAT. I used 3 cans of black beans and 4 cloves of garlic, and only 3/4 banana. I also used chicken broth instead of veggie broth because I was out. Turned out perfect. Next time I might throw some cilantro on there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Excellent soup. Partially hand blended and served with cilantro as suggested by a previous review. Thought of the Carrebean, Rum drinks, and dreadlocks. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Amazingly Wonderful!! Made just as stated except added a whole jalepeno with the onions...just wonderful Spicy with a hint of sweet! Do not be afraid of the odd sounding mix of ingredients you will not be sorry. Thank You So Much Doug for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States