Calypso Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This is an awesome blend of flavors - don't be afraid of the combination. It's very satisfying and even my kids loved it. I didn't find I needed to puree the soup; it was cooked down pretty well on its own and we liked the small chunks of beans that were left. Thanks, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This soup is my new favorite black bean recipe. I used 4 cloves of garlic and 3 cans of beans. I pureed the fruit with a little water in the blender instead of cooking to soften,(banana was very ripe). I had to make myself add that fruit but it absolutely made the soup. I also didn't puree the entire soup, just used the stick blender and gave it a quick buzz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
My husband loved this, no one else (two kids and a brother-in-law) commented or got seconds. I served it over rice to make a meal. A little too sweet for my taste, but I'll probably make it again for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Turned out exactly as I imagined it would. Very tasty! I didn't alter the recipe, but next time I'll add more hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flossy sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
My husband and I both really like this soup. I suggest going light on the banana and heavy on the hot sauce! It could also use an extra can of beans to be thicker, but is great as-is too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Good! Surprising! I added a little lime juice, and hand blended the whole thing right in the pot. I used frozen mango, and topped it all with sour cream and cilantro. Lots of compliments at a dinner party. Neat idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as written, except I forgot the hot sauce. Even so, I was expecting a much stronger sweet/fruity taste. Also, mine was much lighter in color than the one in the picture. I think next time I'll add another can of black beans to thicken it, and maybe try a different brand of coconut milk. The soup was still really good; it just wasn't exactly what I was expecting. I kinda felt like chopping the banana and mango was a waste of time because I could barely taste it. I also think I would consider only blending part of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
absolutely delicious! it takes a little time to prepare, but it is well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I thought that this tasted like a sweet bean dip. I don't reccommond blending the soup if you actually want it to be soup. If you want bean dip, blend away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States