Calypso Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Amazingly Wonderful!! Made just as stated except added a whole jalepeno with the onions...just wonderful Spicy with a hint of sweet! Do not be afraid of the odd sounding mix of ingredients you will not be sorry. Thank You So Much Doug for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Perfect! We made some modifications to make this one quick and easy for us by using our slowcooker: dumped 2 cans of beans with liquid. measured out one mango worth of frozen pineapple, mango, and peaches, slow cooked on high for 1 1/2 hrs. After 1 1/2 hrs. added in bannana. Then, cooked for another 1 hr. Also, used 1 tsp. ginger, 1 TBS. coconut oil instead of olive oil. We didn't have any coconut milk on hand. Added an extra 1/2 cup of water. Placed little food processor next to slowcooker and strained out the fruit and some of the veggies and chopped them in it. We used a vegetable broth that contained oregano, but it didn't hurt the flavor at all. Garnish with one TBS. cilantro and diced yellow pepper. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Excellent soup. Partially hand blended and served with cilantro as suggested by a previous review. Thought of the Carrebean, Rum drinks, and dreadlocks. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Husband thought this was better than average, I thought it was GREAT. I used 3 cans of black beans and 4 cloves of garlic, and only 3/4 banana. I also used chicken broth instead of veggie broth because I was out. Turned out perfect. Next time I might throw some cilantro on there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I thought that this tasted like a sweet bean dip. I don't reccommond blending the soup if you actually want it to be soup. If you want bean dip, blend away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
absolutely delicious! it takes a little time to prepare, but it is well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as written, except I forgot the hot sauce. Even so, I was expecting a much stronger sweet/fruity taste. Also, mine was much lighter in color than the one in the picture. I think next time I'll add another can of black beans to thicken it, and maybe try a different brand of coconut milk. The soup was still really good; it just wasn't exactly what I was expecting. I kinda felt like chopping the banana and mango was a waste of time because I could barely taste it. I also think I would consider only blending part of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Good! Surprising! I added a little lime juice, and hand blended the whole thing right in the pot. I used frozen mango, and topped it all with sour cream and cilantro. Lots of compliments at a dinner party. Neat idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
My husband and I both really like this soup. I suggest going light on the banana and heavy on the hot sauce! It could also use an extra can of beans to be thicker, but is great as-is too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States