Calypso Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This is an awesome blend of flavors - don't be afraid of the combination. It's very satisfying and even my kids loved it. I didn't find I needed to puree the soup; it was cooked down pretty well on its own and we liked the small chunks of beans that were left. Thanks, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This soup is my new favorite black bean recipe. I used 4 cloves of garlic and 3 cans of beans. I pureed the fruit with a little water in the blender instead of cooking to soften,(banana was very ripe). I had to make myself add that fruit but it absolutely made the soup. I also didn't puree the entire soup, just used the stick blender and gave it a quick buzz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
My husband loved this, no one else (two kids and a brother-in-law) commented or got seconds. I served it over rice to make a meal. A little too sweet for my taste, but I'll probably make it again for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Turned out exactly as I imagined it would. Very tasty! I didn't alter the recipe, but next time I'll add more hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flossy sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
My husband and I both really like this soup. I suggest going light on the banana and heavy on the hot sauce! It could also use an extra can of beans to be thicker, but is great as-is too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Good! Surprising! I added a little lime juice, and hand blended the whole thing right in the pot. I used frozen mango, and topped it all with sour cream and cilantro. Lots of compliments at a dinner party. Neat idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as written, except I forgot the hot sauce. Even so, I was expecting a much stronger sweet/fruity taste. Also, mine was much lighter in color than the one in the picture. I think next time I'll add another can of black beans to thicken it, and maybe try a different brand of coconut milk. The soup was still really good; it just wasn't exactly what I was expecting. I kinda felt like chopping the banana and mango was a waste of time because I could barely taste it. I also think I would consider only blending part of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
absolutely delicious! it takes a little time to prepare, but it is well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I thought that this tasted like a sweet bean dip. I don't reccommond blending the soup if you actually want it to be soup. If you want bean dip, blend away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States