Calypso Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Just like the other reviewers, I also urge people to try this recipe even though it has seemingly odd ingredients. The mango is definitely key, so don't substitute that for anything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
O.k. so I like to try soup recipes out on my family -- we have found a few really good favorites that way. However, I would not recommend trying this recipe out on your kids -- maybe an adventurous spouse or friend. The banana/mango/coconut milk combination was just really weird and overly sweet. I gave it a 2 because it was at least interesting. Maybe the banana was too ripe, I don't know. I cooked up some peppers and onions to add at the end to try and save it and that did help some. The color was really strange pureed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Well, I was so excited to try this but in the end it just has way too many flavors going on in here. The bananas are a mistake for sure. I was hoping to love it. I will not ever make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I had to make 2 small changes, I had only Sriracha, which I thought was perfect with the other flavors and I had to sub 1/2&1/2 for the coconut milk. This was the perfect soup for a frigid, cold day. The flavors all come through, but none are overpowering. Thanks, Doug, we really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Hubby says "Add this to our Greatest Hits list!" Like others, I also used 3 cans of beans, 4 garlic cloves, defrosted frozen mango chunks, used an immersion blender leaving some chunks, and garnished with cilantro instead of red pepper. Unusual flavor combo, but very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I added a diced jalepeno to the onion, pepper, and garlic. Also increased the garlic to ~3 cloves. Used three cans of black beans. Halved the Tabasco and added a dash of paprika and cayenne pepper. Only blended 1/2 of the soup and left the other part chunky. Added a handful of chopped cilantro at the end. Topped with fat free plain greek yogurt instead of whipped cream. GREAT! Picky fiance and not-so-picky me both thought it was great. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily.c.craggs@gmail.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylorville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Fantastic! I used the Thai Sri racha sauce and it was spicier than I anticipated, but it was perfect! The cumin adds an almost curry flavor. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Definitely interesting and pretty good overall, would I make it again though? Probably not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Wow! The sweetness of the mango really comes through and balances the spicy just perfectly. I didn't have hot sauce, so I subbed 1/2 tsp of cayenne powder, which added some nice heat. I also used 3 cloves garlic and 3 cups cooked black beans, instead of 2 cans of beans. I think I'd bump up the amount of ground ginger next time, too, since that flavor was a little buried. I blended in the pot with a stick blender and left it just a little chunky. The consistency was great -- thick enough that it wasn't soupy, but not so thick as to constitute a bean dip (as one reviewer experienced). All in all, a fabulous and creative flavor combination that I'd definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, New York, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
What a great recipe! i didnt change a thing! my whole picky family went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mooresville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States