Callaloo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2000
This was really easy to make and tasted something like the Callaloo we had on our Carribean vacation. It is very very tasty and its good for you too. If you are having a Carribean night this is a great starter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
I made this soup for a couple for was having a "romantic dinner for two" Caribbean style. They both loved this soup! I made it again for myself and husband, and we both thought it was wonderful. The only suggestion I would have is this: it is a little on the salty side, so really trim the salt beef well first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
OMG, this soup is simply divine... no actually, it is the devil! I couldn't stop eating it, bowl after bowl after delicious, mouthwatering bowl. I finished all 6 servings in one day! Thank god I'm lazy and don't get out much... otherwise I would have made many more batches and ended up killing myself from overeating. Seriously though, you need to try this soup. Oh, and HAHAHA... good one Corwynn! For a real laugh, try finding some callaloo leaves in your neighborhood. I went to 4 different grocery stores and not one staff member, their management, or even the professional Chef I ran into had heard of this ingredient before. Either way, spinach worked out just fine. As well, for those of you with limited, microwave-only cooking knowledge, shallots look like this: http://www.cooking.com/advice/adgloss.asp?GlossType=ingr&Item=Shallots ... and salt beef is more commonly known as corned beef. Thanks goes out to my friendly, neighborhood grocers for those tidbits of knowledge. Otherwise I’d still be roaming the isles of the grocery store instead of being keeled over in pain from the 6 bowls of soup I just ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I thought this was very delicious. My girls really liked it. I didn't put the okra or the crabmeat in cause I didn't have any. I added two cups of coconut milk and reduced some of the chicken stock to 4 cups and it just tasted so flavourful. I will make again for sure. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Execellent Caribbean soup! I used frozen spinach. Instead of salt beef I used fried bacon and I used crabmeat from a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Never Again.... I had high expectations for this dish based on the reviews. We were very disappointed. I followed the directions exactly as written using fresh spinach, and it was awful. I will say that the longer it cooked, the better it tasted, but even after 4 hours on the stove, and several adjustments, it was still not up to par. Since my investment was $15.00, I did what I could to make it taste better, but even after adjusting it, though it was better, it had a dull flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by salemagnet28

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I totally modified this soup because I didn't have all the ingredients plus I am a lazy cook and it turned out great. I started with a bunch of callaloo, added 32 oz of chix stock, onion + quarter sweet onion, little hot yellow pepper, thyme, salt, pepper, canned crab meat. I simmered for a while and then added a can of condensed milk. No pureeing, just ate it as it and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
You will need a food processor. Callaloo is a super hardy green that does not easily become soft. I put it through the blender 4 times and it was still chunky. It's a filling soup. Use a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
real callaloo has coconut milk. That is better than chicken stock. Rather than crab meat add large blue crab claws
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States