Cali's Sinful Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I was so happy at the way this turned out. I followed the recipe as is and had no problem with the choclate being to hard. I did however use the broiler to brown the sugar, and I happen to like the burlee on the warm side. It was also an easy and elegant desert. Thank-you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I love this recipe! I've never made creme brulee before, I decided to try it and do not regret it! I have some short oval shaped ramekins and I ended up having extra left over, I only have 4 ramekins but could have filled 5. I also switched the chocolate chips for white chocolate chips and the taste was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davifaye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
First time making these and it turned out great. I doubled the recipe but kept the same amount of vanilla per other's suggestion and mixed milk with the chocolate since I used a torch to caramelize the sugar and didn't want it to be too hard from the fridge. A lot of fun and exciting when it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
WOW, so good! I've made this at least 5 times now and every time it gets gobbled up, even if I botch it somehow, I almost scrambled the eggs once and another time I spilled water into it when filling up the water bath and it still got eaten! One thing I always do is double the recipe, you will need to do this if you're serving more than 3 people. I also add a couple of tablespoons of milk to the chocolate so it will spread easier, then I stick it in the freezer until the creme brulee is ready. I find adding one extra egg yolk (to the doubled recipe) gives extra flavor. Make the creme brulee one day before but caramelize/torch the sugar just before you serve it. It's really good when it's just below room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meatless Mama
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This was wonderful! I was making for two, so cut the eggs to two, and used 3/4 cup heavy cream and 1/4 skim milk to ease the guilt pangs. I added the milk to the chocolate like some others have suggested. We put cappuccino flavored sugar on top. It was amazing -smooth creamy and the flavors worked so well together. Only change I would make is to not put the chocolate up the sides of the dish. It got singed by the torch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This is my first time making creme brulee and it turns out excellent! I made it twice within several days. Reduced chocolate to only 1 1/2 tbsp as I thought it was too much. And the second time I accidentally added sugar into the batter but it all turns out well. Will definitely re-use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotoMeMotoU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampshire, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
The custard part was really good! The chocolate was also a tasty addition. Because we used a torch to caramelize the sugar the chocolate did not melt all the way through after refrigeration. Next time I would caramelize or warm in the broiler to melt the choclate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Five stars all the way! This was a very easy and impressive dessert, my guests loved it and wanted more. I have made it with and without the chocolate and it is good both ways. I followed the instructions exactly. I just wish I had made more, I never get requests for second helpings for dessert:) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This is a nice recipe. I didn't find the custard to be silky smooth like I've had in restaurants, but it had a nice flavor. I did find the chocolate to be a little overpowering, so if I make it again, I might use half the suggested amount. I did use my broiler to caramelize the sugar, and the heat softened the chocolate. Overall, tasty, but not perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Crème Brulee

See how easy it is to make this classic creamy French dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States