Cali's Sinful Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
1 complaint: doesn't make enough! EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Huge success for a dinner party. Was very easy to make and delicious to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Not the best creme brulee, but still worth eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
It was a little grainy and took forever to set up. That was probably my fault though, I was used to making custards which can be eaten warm and solid out of the oven. This was just not one of those. I'm not going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WM Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Very good - I loved the twist the chocolate added. Simple but decadent! The vanilla was a bit too much, however. Next time I'll use my own favorite creme brulee recipe and just coat the dishes with melted chocolate. Also I used whole milk (lactaid) with pretty good results - two of them set up well and the other two were a little loose, but still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I loved it and so did my younger sisters and friends. It's true that it doesn't make enough but that can be modified. I made it with chocolate and nobody ate that part so I left it out the next time and it was eaten all up. It's a really good recipe. I make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This is Wonderful, my sister-in-law made this at Christmas and everyone loved it. We are making it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This was a great recipe in that the creme brulee was so rich and yummy. I didn't care for the chocolate part only because it took a jackhammer to get to into it. Next time I will try to adapt it with something that won't be so hard when it comes out of the fridge. All in all, it is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNDA L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This was great, but a few suggestions: 1. I followed the other's suggestions and halfed the vanilla 2. The chocolate was great, but hard as a rock. I may try melting it in to the cream to make it a chocolate dessert 3. Half the amount of sugar on top. It was way too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Yummmmm. We made the recipe as-is, and caramelized the sugar in the oven. We thought the creme brulee tasted great (with the vanilla as-is). The chocolate was melty, not hard as a rock for us. Although I'm sure it was hard as a rock after chilling in the fridge, putting it in the oven to caramelize the sugar melted it. The amount of sugar in the recipe was too much for our ramekins, ours did not have that much surface area. I would recommend only using enough sugar to just coat the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Crème Brulee

See how easy it is to make this classic creamy French dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States