Cali's Sinful Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
OMG! Thank you *SO* much for posting this recipe! I took a chance on it & attempted making Creme Brulee for the first time for a dinner date, and it was AWESOME! The amount of vanilla was perfect, but I love vanilla and frequently use more than recipes call for anyway. I did follow a previous suggestion and added milk to the chocolate to keep it soft, and that worked very well. That's the only alteration I made to the recipe, and it turned out fantastically! I made it because creme brulee is his favorite dessert even though I don't generally care for it - not anymore! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
a very tasty treat. Here's what I do to increase the sinfulness (if that is indeed a word). I bake it uncovered and it always sets perfectly. This admittedly creates a slight film which becomes undetectable once the top is torched. The consensus among tasters at my house is that less bruleed sugar is more for the carmelized topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
did not add chocolate, but everything else was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This was my first time making creme brulee, and it turned out great! Couple things I did. I heated the cream/sugar/salt over a double boiler until hot, but not boiling. I tempered the eggs as stated in the recipe before adding them to the cream mixture. Once I added the egg mixture, I heated again until hot, but not boiling - then strained into a bowl with a pour spout. I used the water bath as suggested, but did not cover them with the foil. I baked for about 45 minutes, as my ramekins were not the short, wide ones - but the narrower, taller ones (I got 5 out of this recipe). I cooled them for about 10 minutes before refrigerating them. I also brought them to room temp (about 40 minutes) before carmelizing the top. I used the broiler, but I think I will invest in a kitchen torch for the next time, as it made the mixture too hot, and I didn't have time to cool them again before serving. The taste was WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I skipped the chocolate part cause I wanted to taste a normal creme brulee seeing as I've never had creme brulee before. It tasted really good but the instructions were rather confusing. I recommend adding exact temperatures for parts like when heating up the cream/sugar but since there were none I just used the same temperature I use for making other custards. I would've given this a 4 for not good instructions but it brought back some cool memories of me as a kid...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
We skipped the chocolate part because we used a torch to brown the top and it wouldn't have heated the chocolate up to melt it. If we ever do it under the broiler I would do it. Very good and very easy. Make the night before and let sit in the fridge until you're ready to brown. Served w/ strawberries and blueberries in individual bowls. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESANTONE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
tasty! i loved it. a big hit. only one problem, it disappered too fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evilsavy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DessertDave
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I made this recipe the other day and it turned out great! Definitely a keeper. Following the advice of others, I only sprinkled enough sugar just to coat the top of each ramekin. I also mixed a teaspoon of milk into the melted chocolate in each ramekin to prevent the chocolate from getting too hard in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Yummmmm. We made the recipe as-is, and caramelized the sugar in the oven. We thought the creme brulee tasted great (with the vanilla as-is). The chocolate was melty, not hard as a rock for us. Although I'm sure it was hard as a rock after chilling in the fridge, putting it in the oven to caramelize the sugar melted it. The amount of sugar in the recipe was too much for our ramekins, ours did not have that much surface area. I would recommend only using enough sugar to just coat the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This was great, but a few suggestions: 1. I followed the other's suggestions and halfed the vanilla 2. The chocolate was great, but hard as a rock. I may try melting it in to the cream to make it a chocolate dessert 3. Half the amount of sugar on top. It was way too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Crème Brulee

See how easy it is to make this classic creamy French dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States