California Vegetable Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Tasted great, everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This is a delicious dish. Made this tonight and everyone enjoyed it. Will definitely make this again and again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I recommend using this recipe as a starting point, as it's a wonderful opportunity to get creative and use up the vegetables in your home. As long as you stick to the roots (mayo, sour cream, buttery crackers) then the vegetables you use are negligible. I always make it with fresh veggies. I like to roast eggplant and zucchini with olive oil and italian seasoning, sauté onions, mushrooms, and garlic, chop up a tomato, and add shredded chicken. These variations are still full of calories, but they get the vegetable nutrients in as well, and everyone in my house LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piper Casey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I quadrupled this recipe and made it for the first time for a church function. There was nothing left, the pans had been scraped clean. It was delicious! I will be making it again for two different family Christmas dinners :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Fatteningly delicious. This probably has about a million calories but I could have eaten the whole pan...yum! I added a potato, corn and some zucchini to the veggie mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri Justice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Without any seasoning, this veggie dish is bland as written. Just adding salt and pepper would be a step in the right direction but bolder use of your preferred seasoning(s) will make a remarkable difference in flavor. We used fresh broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots, not frozen. The appearance and taste of this dish would be improved if the vegetables were first combined with the cream sauce before placing in a baking dish (used a 9" x 13" since no size is suggested). Pouring the sauce over the top of the veggies as instructed results in veggies being unevenly coated with those at top heavily sauced and those at bottom with little or no sauce. The directions are unclear as to whether the cracker crumbs are spread over the cream sauce or the vegetables . . . doesn’t make much difference if made as written as the veggies and sauce need to be stirred-up anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
We liked this a lot. I used fresh not frozen veggies and because I forgot to pick up the crackers at the store I used french fried onion rings.Lovely creamy sauce that pairs perfectly with the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This is the best recipe for a veggie casserole. I have used it for summer squash and other veggies when I didn't have the California blend. This recipe is so easy. I did not use the crackers and topped it with shredded cheese. I also added garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Melts in your mouth! The cracker topping completes this dish. Yummy way to get the kidlets to eat their veggies. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Chef John’s Root Vegetable Gratin

See how to make a simple cheesy gratin with root vegetables and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States