California Taco Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Very delicious! Everyone loved it at the Super Bowl party!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Loved it! Basic taco dip - but sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jking5344

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This was easy to make and a big hit at my family reunion. There was hardly any left at the end of the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Yummy! Used fat free refried beans, store bought guacamole, and made my own taco seasoning. Friends and family loved it...served with Fritos Scoops and tortilla chips. Made 24 hours in advance and kept perfectly in the fridge. Also made in a deep dish pie plate and looked very pretty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I added a bit of water just to make the refried beans easier to spread. I used vegetarian, fat free refried beans, low fat sour cream and mayo, 2% cheese and left off the green onion (which is just a personal preference). Took the dip to a party with Tostito Scoops - it was well received. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
YUM! exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amymhis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sun Valley, California, USA
Living In: Hudson, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I've been making this for almost 40 years. It was a recipe given to me by a coworker at Hopkins in the 70s. Excellent. Everyone loves it whenever I bring it to a function. If there are leftovers, we spoon it onto plates and have it with corn chips for dinner. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I used to make this all the time for family gatherings and everyone loved it. Instead of using shredded cheese, I used warmed cheese dip so it could be spread easily. That would be the second to the top layer, then for whatever the occasion I would spell out in the green onion "Happy Birthday to ..." or "Merry Xmas" etc. Everyone got a big kick out of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I have been making my own version of this dip for years! I have a great guacamole recipe, so I serve that separately and omit the avocado layer from this dip. Instead, I scramble a pound of ground beef and mix it together with 1/2 the taco seasoning packet. I then combine the other 1/2 with 2/3 c. sour cream and 1/3 c. mayo. I layer: bean dip, beef, sour cream mixture, tomotoes, a little chopped scallion and cilantro, then cover with cheese (not an olive fan!). I arrange the layers in the middle of one my big turkey platters and then surround it with chips... Presentation is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I gave this 4 stars because it is good. I have had it many times BUT this is called Seven Layer Dip normally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YvieWood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States