California Taco Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I have been making this recipe for over 20 years but call it by another name. I use Frito's bean dip for the bottom layer, I omit the mayo, and add garlic salt to the avacado's, but otherwise it's exactly the same and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Great recipe! Everyone at our party loved it and it was easy to make! I real crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reedley, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I gave this 4 stars because it is good. I have had it many times BUT this is called Seven Layer Dip normally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YvieWood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This is an excellent dip. I have made this by adding green chilis, cumin and chili powder to the bean layer. It's pretty forgiving to tweak as you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by three-peas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This dip was awesome! I made it last night for my boyfriend and we both loved it! I used a half cup of creamcheese and a half cup of sour cream instead because I didn't have a whole cup. I also baked it in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I have been making my own version of this dip for years! I have a great guacamole recipe, so I serve that separately and omit the avocado layer from this dip. Instead, I scramble a pound of ground beef and mix it together with 1/2 the taco seasoning packet. I then combine the other 1/2 with 2/3 c. sour cream and 1/3 c. mayo. I layer: bean dip, beef, sour cream mixture, tomotoes, a little chopped scallion and cilantro, then cover with cheese (not an olive fan!). I arrange the layers in the middle of one my big turkey platters and then surround it with chips... Presentation is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
AWESOME! This is definately one of the better taco dips I've had. Made this exactly as written, and there is no need to change a thing. I will be making this again for sure! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I used to make this all the time for family gatherings and everyone loved it. Instead of using shredded cheese, I used warmed cheese dip so it could be spread easily. That would be the second to the top layer, then for whatever the occasion I would spell out in the green onion "Happy Birthday to ..." or "Merry Xmas" etc. Everyone got a big kick out of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I've been making this for almost 40 years. It was a recipe given to me by a coworker at Hopkins in the 70s. Excellent. Everyone loves it whenever I bring it to a function. If there are leftovers, we spoon it onto plates and have it with corn chips for dinner. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I had this recipe many years ago and loved it! It was my favorite dish to bring to parties. And then...I lost it! I have been searching every where for it for a long time and now, out of the blue, here it is. You have made my day! I can't wait to have an occassion where I can serve this again. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States