California Style Israeli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I had extra cucumbers and jicama on hand that I didn't know what to do with, this recipe was a perfect light, healthy use of those fresh ingredients. I did remove the seeds from the tomatoes before dicing them to keep it from getting too wet and mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celia
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This is a great salad! I served it at a BBQ and will do so again, people liked the crunch and flavors. It was many of their's first taste of jicama and I they enjoyed it for the most part. I didn't have dried parsley and substituted dried basil, I'd consider adding fresh cilantro next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I fixed this as an experiment because it looked and sound good. I had not tried jicama before because I didn't know anything about it. I had a tossed salad ready just in case we didn't like this, but my hubby and I both loved it. I did leave out the onion because I'm not a big fan of raw onion and I added a little bit of a special family recipe oil and vinegar dressing to it after I had eaten some because I like things a bit spicy. I thought my friend would like it and I gave her a copy several days ago. Last night she gave a large dinner party for about 15 to 20 people and this salad was featured. I think everyone was raving about how delicious it was, and I think my friend and her daughter followed the recipe to the letter except: they used both red and yellow peppers, which added more color, and left out the onion. And, as several other reviewers commented, the dish is even better the 2nd day. Thanks for a great recipe for fresh delicious food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
very little flavor to the dressing, and I didn't like the jicama at all. It didn't have a flavor, and was tough and almost inedible even after peeling. Was looking for a healthy alternative to the usual salad or veggie tray, but I think next time I'll stick with the veggie tray....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This is a very fresh tasting summery salad. The jicama is a nice change of pace from all the usual vegetables. I don't think you really need to add the oil or the parsley. Next time I will try coarse sea salt instead of the regular which I think drains the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
meh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I love the taste of this salad. Very refreshing. I can't wait to make it with the fresh veggies from our own garden later this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This recipe is delicious and like the others have said, it gets better the second or third day. I love to put it in a whole wheat tortilla with a slice of turkey. Makes for a quick, delicious and healthy lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Langwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I have gotten so many compliments on this dish that I make it whenever I want to impress dinner guests! It's absolutely delicious and a great spin on a familiar Israeli standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Omitted the tomatoes for fear of it getting soggy, but this is a really yummy summer dish! Very crunchy and refreshing - this can easily be doubled to serve a crowd,and I find it maintained well the next day. This stuff is also good served in pitas, or on its own with a some grilled chicken mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States