California Style Israeli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I have gotten so many compliments on this dish that I make it whenever I want to impress dinner guests! It's absolutely delicious and a great spin on a familiar Israeli standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This recipe is delicious and like the others have said, it gets better the second or third day. I love to put it in a whole wheat tortilla with a slice of turkey. Makes for a quick, delicious and healthy lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Langwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This is a very fresh tasting summery salad. The jicama is a nice change of pace from all the usual vegetables. I don't think you really need to add the oil or the parsley. Next time I will try coarse sea salt instead of the regular which I think drains the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Omitted the tomatoes for fear of it getting soggy, but this is a really yummy summer dish! Very crunchy and refreshing - this can easily be doubled to serve a crowd,and I find it maintained well the next day. This stuff is also good served in pitas, or on its own with a some grilled chicken mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I love the taste of this salad. Very refreshing. I can't wait to make it with the fresh veggies from our own garden later this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
I gave this to all of my friends who are looking for a delicious crunchy veggie dish, It is in my refreigerator every week so when I am hungry, I just scoop up a bit and wow ...it is great. Two fresh lemons and the jicama veggie are a MUST HAVE I also add cilantro, salt and a touch of pepper. Because you use the English Cucumber and the plum tomatoes, it does not get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
This is a wonderful salad. I have made it both with jicama and without. Without it is more traditional and with, a little more modern and more cruncy. I have also used different colors of peppers mixed together to give it a more colorful appearance.It has become my favorite salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Thank Haven for the produce guy because I had no idea what the difference was between a English cucumber & a regular one, much less what a jicama was. I was skeptical about the jicama, but I'm going to be looking for more recipes with it. This is a keeper, but I'd refrigerate several hours before serving because it tastes better & the flavors can blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
Nice change. My husband also liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I LOVE this salad. I've been making it for a few years now with different variations. Sometimes without jicama etc. But for special occasions I always make it with the jicama. Sometimes I add red and green pepper as well. I always make it when I have a brunch at my house. People love it. Very refreshing and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States