California Style Israeli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
I gave this to all of my friends who are looking for a delicious crunchy veggie dish, It is in my refreigerator every week so when I am hungry, I just scoop up a bit and wow ...it is great. Two fresh lemons and the jicama veggie are a MUST HAVE I also add cilantro, salt and a touch of pepper. Because you use the English Cucumber and the plum tomatoes, it does not get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Thank Haven for the produce guy because I had no idea what the difference was between a English cucumber & a regular one, much less what a jicama was. I was skeptical about the jicama, but I'm going to be looking for more recipes with it. This is a keeper, but I'd refrigerate several hours before serving because it tastes better & the flavors can blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
This is a wonderful salad. I have made it both with jicama and without. Without it is more traditional and with, a little more modern and more cruncy. I have also used different colors of peppers mixed together to give it a more colorful appearance.It has become my favorite salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
The taste was good, but as an Israeli girl I must say- NOT very authentic! We don't even have jicama in Israel! Let alone English cucumbers! The usual salad spices are black pepper, salt, lots of freshly squeezed lemon juice, and maybe chopped green onion or parsley. I recomment adding a couple of grated carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gal Benron

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haifa, Mehoz Hefa, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
This was a pretty looking salad. My husband actually walked by & asked if I'd made a fruit salad. The taste is mild. If you want more of a zing, I guess you could add something like garlic to it. I served the red onions on the side as my husband isn't a big onion fan. I'd never bought jicama (or an English cucumber) before & it was a nice change. The jicama adds more of a crisper texture, almost like an apple. This is a nice healthy alternative to the standard lettuce salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
Nice change. My husband also liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Omitted the tomatoes for fear of it getting soggy, but this is a really yummy summer dish! Very crunchy and refreshing - this can easily be doubled to serve a crowd,and I find it maintained well the next day. This stuff is also good served in pitas, or on its own with a some grilled chicken mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This recipe is delicious and like the others have said, it gets better the second or third day. I love to put it in a whole wheat tortilla with a slice of turkey. Makes for a quick, delicious and healthy lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Langwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This wasn't what I expected, but worked out well for the meal I made. This resembled more of a salsa - but we had pita and seasoned ground turkey meat, so we just added this in and it was pretty good. I would not recommend using dried parsley, it made it look terrible. I would use fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I have gotten so many compliments on this dish that I make it whenever I want to impress dinner guests! It's absolutely delicious and a great spin on a familiar Israeli standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States