California-Style Barbecue Chicken Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I made this as a last minute dinner for my three boys, leaving myself out as I'm suffering from some kind of summer sickness. I used a full pound of chicken breasts, red pepper instead of green (that's what we prefer), and as a pre-baked crust, I used 1 sheet of Pillsbury crescent roll dough baked as a pizza crust. I did not have the kind of Kraft cheese that the recipe called for so I used just plain old sharp cheddar cheese. This recipe was incredibly simple, lent well to substitutions so I could use what I had on hand, was cost effective to make (most of the ingredients I used I couponed) and the boys inhaled it. Serves six? Psh. THREE. No leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Delicious recipe. I made it just this evening! It is different enough to be made for a dinner of adults and older children who are tired of the same ol' same ol'. Young ones may not like this recipe. We really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I've made a version very similar to this, with the exception of using a gluten free pizza crust and I like to bake it on my gas grill. I have never tried the cheddar with Philadelphia cheese, but I intend to see if I can find that version of cheese and make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This is a deliciously easy meal! I used the pizza crust from the packet, where you just add water, so I could make a thin crust. The BBQ sauce used in this recipe is good- a bit on the sweet side, but incredible with the type of cheese used (touch of philidelphia). I made two pizzas to feed my family of 5 and will be making it again soon, I'm sure! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiwitina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jchronister
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Simple but effective recipe. I altered it a bit, I used mozzarella instead of cheddar, Sweet Baby Rays instead of Bull's-Eye and i added a bit of jalapeno for some serious flavor. You can never go wrong with BBQ chicken pizza. One of my favorite pizza's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jchronister

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I completely rate the topping on this a 10, but the bbq sauce and store pre-baked crust about a 2. I may even make the topping to put in a sandwich sometime. To save time I bought a rotisserie chicken at my whole sale club. I realized that the peppers and onions were supposed to be cooked with the uncooked chicken, so I added a spoon of whipped butter and cooked the peppers and onions alone on med. low. Once they were carmelized I added the cut up rotisserie chicken. At first bite the topping is so good until I got to the sweet and yet still kind of cold bbq sauce and tasteless crust. I may use the topping again with my own crust and bbq sauce. Quick meal, but I guess I like more of that homemade taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Quick, easy, and delicious - perfect for lunch! Plus, it's a great way to use up leftover grilled chicken. all I had to do was sautee some peppers. I used red and green for some added color and flavor to go along with the thin sliced red onion. I used a thin crust boboli bread shell and our favorite bbq sauce. I also used a Mexican blend cheese but I'm sure any cheese would do as long as it gets nice and bubbly! Overall, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Dixie'sMom
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Made this pizza tonight using Jay's Signature Pizza Crust recipe from AR and was it delicious. A little extra work, but so much better the ready to use crusts. Never bothered to measure anything and kept the ingredients the same. I cooked the chicken breasts first in a little olive oil and seasoned them with roasted garlic sea salt. Once the chicken was done, I then cooked the sliced green pepper and a very liberal amount of diced red onion. Will definitely be making this pizza again. Thanks Kraft, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Very yummy. I used pita bread instead of pizza crust and cooked on the grill till the pita was crunchy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Used the pre-cooked chicken strips in the lunch meat aisle and followed everything to a T. It was SOOO yummy, exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Baked Garden Ratatouille

See how to make cheesy baked chicken ratatouille with fresh garden herbs.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States