California Sherry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I substituted salt for adobo goya so it has some salt and other seasonings. I read some reviews of salty sherry wine. Pompeon sherry wine was not salty at all. Slow cooked for extra 15min for tasty results. Marinate chicken for 20 min in sauce before covering with dry ingredients. I was pleased with this recipe served over rice and vegtables on the side was deliciously cooked with same juices lightly. Mushroom added a plus with onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
A little gummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Made it exactly as recipe stated and thought it was pretty bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This chicken is fabulous! I made the recipe as stated except I only used two breasts because mine where huge. It came out so tender and delicious. I was mad that I didn't make 4 breasts as stated. I can't thank you enough for sharing this recipe. I will be putting it in my regular rotation. I never would have dreamed I could make something so delicious with basic ingredients I always have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Oh boy. The chicken turned out very tasty, but I'm not sure how. I didn't have cooking sherry, so I subbed in red wine, plus I doubled it as per the "double the sauce" recommendation from other reviewers. Everything turned out completely purple--the chicken, the veggies, yep. Again, it was tasty, but I ended up with about two cups of extra purple liquid in my pan at the end of the story!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julielizabeth01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Awesome. The whole family liked it. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goosemonkey
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was fantastic! I added some sliced portabello mushrooms and a dash of heavy cream to the skillet before I retured the meat. I am making it again tonight!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladydee85
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Tried this last night and we thought it was very flavorful. Here is why it was not a 5 star for me: The chicken was too peppery for my taste. The sauce was not thick enough - so I added about 1 tbs of cornstarch. I also just added the veggies few minutes before it was done so I don't have to dirty another pot, plus, the veggies also soak up the flavor. Lastly, I added mushrooms, just as the other reviewer suggested. Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
LOVE. Needs extra sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Absolutely fantastic. We subbed Cousa Squash for Zucchini, Lime for Lemon, and served over white rice. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Chef John's Chicken French

See how to make tender, tasty chicken in a simple wine and butter sauce.

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States