California Salad Bowl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
I loved this salad! If you like olives you'll love the subtle flavor that it adds. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
Really yummy. Will do this again. I used light mayo and light sour cream to equal the amount of mayo called for in the recipe. I added a cup or so of fresh cilantro and used lime juice. It needed thining so I use some milk. Everyone loved it, I even forgot the chips which would definately make it tastier. Thanks:}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2004
Pretty good recipe. I followed the advice of a previous poster and added some cumin and chili powder to the dressing - I think without it, the dressing would've been pretty bland. But with the spices, delicious! I added some already cooked southwestern flavored chicken and we had it for dinner - good recipe - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
EXCELLENT! Took to a cook-out and it was gobbled up! Even my son (who isn't a salad eater) loved it! I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
Great salad! Took it to a family picnic and it was gone in a matter of minutes. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
We enjoyed this salad but I feel like the dressing was a little too creamy. I may add more olive oil and use juice of one lime instead of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This was a huge hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
Brought this to a party and all loved it. Made a few changes - added one extra avocado, used fat free sr cream instead of mayo, and lime juice instead of lemon. The dressing was a little bland, so I added 1 Tbsp ea. of chili powder & cumin, 1 tsp onion powder, and 3 cloves chopped garlic. I thinned the dressing with milk (adjust to your desired consistency) Used about 1/2 c sliced green olives w/pimiento, 1/4c pickled jalapeno slices and added 1/2c cilantro leaves to the greens. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
Here is another excellent recipe thanks to Allrecipes. Threw everything in the blender. Used a mixed green salad mix instead of romaine but next time I will use the romaine as I think it would work best. Husband loved the flavor and has requested that I take this to a friend's house for dinner this evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
Yummy salad! Everyone loved it and so easy to make! Next time I'll try lime instead of lemon, and maybe some chopped cilantro for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States