California Salad Bowl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
The dressing had an excellent taste, but It was a little too oily for me. It wasn't very smooth either, it kept seperating... but that could have been something I did wrong. Overall a very tasty salad. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
I thought this salad was great! All the friends I shared it with loved it and asked for the recipe. I can't believe some people were so rude in their reviews. If you think the dressing was too rich and gooey, you should use less. If your chips got soggy, you should throw them in at the very end. Use a little common sense. If you change the ingredients, the flavor will be different and you cannot compare. Overall, excellent salad. Thank you Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
This was a pretty good salad. However, the chips got really soggy. For next time, I will probably add the chips after the rest of the ingredients have been mixed together.I will try adding salsa to the salad next time too. Also, I added black olives instead of green. The dressing makes the salad! It has a wonderful taste. Overall, this salad was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
This was okay, a little weird. I didn't put the green onions in, used yellow peppers instead. I also did not put the corn chips in as I am doing low-carb, so I crumbled a few whole wheat crackers in, which was fine. The dressing was what threw me. Everyone raved about how good it was, and it was all right, but really, really rich. I didn't feel like I was eating healthy since it was so thick and gooey tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
Loved it!! If you like avacado you will love this. It was a mild dressing and salad ingredients are easy to work with; add more or less to your taste. I used black olive instead of green. Will definitely make again. Great for company, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
ok but nothing to rave about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
I made the dressing for another type salad and it was fabulous. It could be used for so many other things since it's thick. burgers, sandwiches, chip dip, tacos. We loved it! Maybe I'll make the salad part some day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
This is the best salad I've ever had. You can add whatever vegetables you like. I added snow peas and black olives and omitted the onions and green olives. The dressing is what makes this an awesome recipe. I take this salad to family functions and I always get asked for the recipe! Thanks for sharing with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLSMITH13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
I made this salad for my family and everyone loved it. My grandmother ( a notoriously picky eater) asked for seconds, unfortunately there were none, because the salad was gone in about two seconds. The only change I made was to add a LOT more hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UNTCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
This was delicious! I added some diced chicken and red bell pepper and served as a main course. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States