California Roll Sushi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This is the best kind of sushi for a begginer sushi chef to practice on. I didn't add any mayo (don't care for it). Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I didn't use the rice vinager and it still turned out pretty good. My husband said it tasted better without the vinager, he gets heartburn when i use the vinager anywyas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Excellent combination. I didn't have enough rice, though. Next time I'm going to double the rice so I don't run out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Very tasty. I cut down on the amount of mayo (about 2-3 TBSP) and also cut the rice vinegar down by 1/3. I didn't flip it, as suggested, just rolled it normally. The ride wash seemed to help with the bag rice I used. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by running fool

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I also added 1 tsp of salt to the vinegar. Fish roe adds not only flavor but color. Just used enough mayo to hold the crabmeat together so it won´t overpower the other ingredients. Removed the seeds from the cucumber and be generous with the sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
The first time I make these, they came out rather large but everyone loved them. I took the recommendation and used less mayo. Then I added alittle siracha hot sauce to the mayo to make them Spicy California rolls. Very tasty!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Way too much mayonnaise ratio to finely chopped crabmeat. It drowned out the crabmeat taste. Instead of 1/4 cup mayo, I'd put 1-1.5 tbsp for 1/2 a cup of crabmeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlogAlotAliCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
not bad, but traditional sushi rice should have a bit of salt in it. the correct method is to add about 1 tsp salt per three cups of rice, you dissolve the salt with the sugar in the vinegar, so for one cup rice, it would be about 1/3 tsp salt. otherwise, this would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
It was excellent, turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How to Prepare Nigiri Sushi

See how to prepare beautiful and delicious nigiri sushi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States