California Roll Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
**REVISING MY ORIGINAL REVIEW**. We still 100% love this recipe, BUT BUT BUT... I decided to try ELLIEGIRL1's tips of using Nori (roasted seaweed) instead of spinach (as I have done in the past),and grated fresh ginger (I grated it into the cooled rice). These two ingredients put this recipe clear over the TOP and then some (Wish I could give it more stars)! TY TY TY for posting the Nori use! For a potluck dish that has to travel, a dish you want to make several hours ahead, or a salad that has to wait awhile to be served we still nix the lettuce. Nori and Wasabi paste can be found in the ethnic area of most grocery stores. Original review- A TOTAL POTLUCK HIT !! WOW! If you like traditional California Roll sushi you will love this for a change! I have made this several times, but have evolved to totally nixing the lettuce as it tends to get way too limp for our taste! Now, it's just rice, avocado, fake crab, cuke, and I add steamed spinach. Amounts are too your taste. I make the dressing exactly as directed. I now use this dressing on fish, and numerous other things. IT'S THE BEST! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This is phenomenal. I made this for when we had company over and everyone loved it. It really tastes like a California roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
This sald was really great as a main dish on a hot summer's day. We added a bit more wasabi, since we like things spicy, and we cut down on the rice. If you like California sishi rolls, you'll like this salad. Next time will try a bit of sake in the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
This was really good. I'm doing a low-carb thing right now (just like the rest of the country) so I left out the rice. The wasabi powder doesn't come through (no heat) I have wasabi paste so I'm going to try it with the paste. Thank you for posting this recipe I will make it too many times for anyone to ever count!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
A great idea for someone who loves california rolls without the fuss of sushi rice and rolling at home! I used a bit of dry sherry and white wine vinegar in place of rice vinegar. Wasabi paste (1tsp) added some grated ginger to the dressing, crumbled Nori papers and topped it with toasted sesame seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This recipe definitely tastes like a California Roll!! I had the hardest time finding a sushi recipe that was easy, and this one fit. My husband and I crave sushi but it's expesive to go to a restaurant, and this totally cured our craving. Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This was very good. I used romaine lettuce and added pickled ginger and crumbled nori, and I sprinkled toasted sesame seeds over the top. The ginger really added to the "sushi" flavor. Even though I added about 1 tsp more wasabi than the recipe called for, it still didn't have the kick I like, so next time I'll add more. I may try using olive oil or mashed avocado instead of the mayo for the dressing, just because I don't like to use mayo (or any of its vegan counterparts).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Being of Asian descent, I've eaten lots of traditional sushi rolls so I had my doubts about how this salad would compare. Was I pleasantly surprised – it tasted like the real thing without the time consuming work of making and slicing the rolls… easy and delicious! I used romaine lettuce so I didn’t have a problem with soggy lettuce… or maybe it was because we finished the salad before the lettuce had time to wilt. I used wasabi paste and tried to stir the ingredients for the dressing with a fork but the mayo wouldn’t combine with everything else so I put everything in a small jar and shook it all up. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I loved this recipe... such an original idea. I omitted the lettuce, as I expected a bit of leftovers. I also made a 3-egg omelet and cut it into small strips to add to the salad, along with 3/4 cup of shredded carrots and 2 tbsp of sesame seeds. I served the salad with extra dressing and nori sheets cut into 3" x 3" squares. We put spoonsfuls of the salad onto the nori squares and added a little dressing which makes for a big delicious mouthful... just like sushi! I got GREAT feedback. Thanks for this wonderful idea, as I am sure I will make this at least once or twice a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This was so much better than expected. I'm not a huge imitation crab fan, so I was really hesitant, but this came out great. Definitely should substitute nori strips for lettuce as they really tie the dish together. I also doubled the rice to make it a main dish. Toasted white and black sesame seeds make a great garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States