California Roll Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
**REVISING MY ORIGINAL REVIEW**. We still 100% love this recipe, BUT BUT BUT... I decided to try ELLIEGIRL1's tips of using Nori (roasted seaweed) instead of spinach (as I have done in the past),and grated fresh ginger (I grated it into the cooled rice). These two ingredients put this recipe clear over the TOP and then some (Wish I could give it more stars)! TY TY TY for posting the Nori use! For a potluck dish that has to travel, a dish you want to make several hours ahead, or a salad that has to wait awhile to be served we still nix the lettuce. Nori and Wasabi paste can be found in the ethnic area of most grocery stores. Original review- A TOTAL POTLUCK HIT !! WOW! If you like traditional California Roll sushi you will love this for a change! I have made this several times, but have evolved to totally nixing the lettuce as it tends to get way too limp for our taste! Now, it's just rice, avocado, fake crab, cuke, and I add steamed spinach. Amounts are too your taste. I make the dressing exactly as directed. I now use this dressing on fish, and numerous other things. IT'S THE BEST! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
A great idea for someone who loves california rolls without the fuss of sushi rice and rolling at home! I used a bit of dry sherry and white wine vinegar in place of rice vinegar. Wasabi paste (1tsp) added some grated ginger to the dressing, crumbled Nori papers and topped it with toasted sesame seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
This sald was really great as a main dish on a hot summer's day. We added a bit more wasabi, since we like things spicy, and we cut down on the rice. If you like California sishi rolls, you'll like this salad. Next time will try a bit of sake in the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This recipe definitely tastes like a California Roll!! I had the hardest time finding a sushi recipe that was easy, and this one fit. My husband and I crave sushi but it's expesive to go to a restaurant, and this totally cured our craving. Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Being of Asian descent, I've eaten lots of traditional sushi rolls so I had my doubts about how this salad would compare. Was I pleasantly surprised – it tasted like the real thing without the time consuming work of making and slicing the rolls… easy and delicious! I used romaine lettuce so I didn’t have a problem with soggy lettuce… or maybe it was because we finished the salad before the lettuce had time to wilt. I used wasabi paste and tried to stir the ingredients for the dressing with a fork but the mayo wouldn’t combine with everything else so I put everything in a small jar and shook it all up. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Great new salad! I changed things and took suggestions from others... I used Romaine lettuce, put sesame seeds in the dressing, and since I didn't have wasabi powder, I used wasabi paste instead. I also used either basmati or long grain rice, since japanese rice or short grain can be too sticky to use. I put nori strips on top and fried wonton strips. Definitely a salad I would bring to a potluck to bring something different. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I nixed the rice and just made a regular lettuce salad instead. The dressing is really good; I make it often and keep it in the fridge to have on weeknights. I served this at a party and so many people came up to me to rave about the dressing. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladychroe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Nothing spectacular, but a nice light summer salad (as a main dish, not a side one). The lettuce WILL go limp if made in advance, so I advice either dressing it at the last minute, or tossing in the lettuce at the last minute. Toasted, shredded nori sprinkled on top just before serving gave it real oomph and more of that California Roll flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
This was really good. I'm doing a low-carb thing right now (just like the rest of the country) so I left out the rice. The wasabi powder doesn't come through (no heat) I have wasabi paste so I'm going to try it with the paste. Thank you for posting this recipe I will make it too many times for anyone to ever count!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Tasted just like a Calf. Roll. I did use the iceberg lettuce, but cut into chunks and added seaweed strips to the top just before serving. I did double the dressing and added ginger to the rice. This was so different and delicious. I am craving it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States