California Roll Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Great summer salad. Left out the lettuce, added extra mayo and rice wine vinegar. Then as a finishing touch I added some Mexican hot sauce called Tapatio, (any hot sauce will do), yum! With 3 inch nori squares on the side to make tiny rolls, it tasted just like a California roll. Will definitely make again for my sushi loving son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preshie from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
My 11yo daughter and I are having this salad right now, and it's just wonderful. We omitted the lettuce and added strips of nori as suggested. It looks beautiful and tastes almost exactly like a Cali roll, just a little more moist. Thanks for a simply delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I found this recipe to be more of a starting point than anything else. I eliminated the rice and added chopped sugar snap peas and shredded carrots to add some color and some more variety to the veggies. I found the dressing quite bland as it was. Next time I make it I think I'll add some garlic and ginger, and possibly some more wasabi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Loved it! Quick & easy. Satisfies a craving, light, but filling. I used the brown rice, baby romaine and prepared wasabi, but stuck to the recipe otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russell Springs, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Jamestown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I nixed the rice and just made a regular lettuce salad instead. The dressing is really good; I make it often and keep it in the fridge to have on weeknights. I served this at a party and so many people came up to me to rave about the dressing. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladychroe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This is phenomenal. I made this for when we had company over and everyone loved it. It really tastes like a California roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This was so much better than expected. I'm not a huge imitation crab fan, so I was really hesitant, but this came out great. Definitely should substitute nori strips for lettuce as they really tie the dish together. I also doubled the rice to make it a main dish. Toasted white and black sesame seeds make a great garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I loved this recipe... such an original idea. I omitted the lettuce, as I expected a bit of leftovers. I also made a 3-egg omelet and cut it into small strips to add to the salad, along with 3/4 cup of shredded carrots and 2 tbsp of sesame seeds. I served the salad with extra dressing and nori sheets cut into 3" x 3" squares. We put spoonsfuls of the salad onto the nori squares and added a little dressing which makes for a big delicious mouthful... just like sushi! I got GREAT feedback. Thanks for this wonderful idea, as I am sure I will make this at least once or twice a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Being of Asian descent, I've eaten lots of traditional sushi rolls so I had my doubts about how this salad would compare. Was I pleasantly surprised – it tasted like the real thing without the time consuming work of making and slicing the rolls… easy and delicious! I used romaine lettuce so I didn’t have a problem with soggy lettuce… or maybe it was because we finished the salad before the lettuce had time to wilt. I used wasabi paste and tried to stir the ingredients for the dressing with a fork but the mayo wouldn’t combine with everything else so I put everything in a small jar and shook it all up. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States