California Roll Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This is fantastic! I omitted lettuce and added roasted seaweed (nori)instead. My husband said this might be better than my hand rolls and that's saying a lot! We LOVE california rolls and I often make california hand rolls at home with roe. But I didn't add any roe to the salad but next time I think I will. This is sooooo good, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is a winner! I changed a couple things and think this dish is fantastic. I didn't use any lettuce at all. I wanted to use the seaweed but my local store didn't have any so I substituted some prepared seaweed salad. I actually think this is what made the dish, it added almost all of the flavor before any dressing was used. I winged the dressing, added seasame seeds and just tinkering with it until it tasted the way I wanted, I didn't have any wasabi but I could have went either way using it or not. I cooked my rice in my rice cooker and threw some in the fridge to cool, very important, use cool rice only. I will definitely make this time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This is really great!! I think the dressing is the best part cause you can use it on anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This was very, very good. I used red leaf lettuce instead of the iceburg, and added nori strips as others suggested. My husband used to work in a sushi bar a long time ago, and he said the flavor was very close to a California roll. I served it with Thai Chicken Tenders, and the salad was the best part of the meal by far. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I made this with another recipe from this site. "Asian fire meat". It was really good. Tossed dressing with each individual serving. I halved the recipe and it still made way way much salad. What a original idea. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was wonderful. Used nori strips as others had suggested and only 1/2 of an extremely large english cucumber. Good use for leftover rice too. This will be a regular lunch item for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Great summer salad. Left out the lettuce, added extra mayo and rice wine vinegar. Then as a finishing touch I added some Mexican hot sauce called Tapatio, (any hot sauce will do), yum! With 3 inch nori squares on the side to make tiny rolls, it tasted just like a California roll. Will definitely make again for my sushi loving son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preshie from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
My 11yo daughter and I are having this salad right now, and it's just wonderful. We omitted the lettuce and added strips of nori as suggested. It looks beautiful and tastes almost exactly like a Cali roll, just a little more moist. Thanks for a simply delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I found this recipe to be more of a starting point than anything else. I eliminated the rice and added chopped sugar snap peas and shredded carrots to add some color and some more variety to the veggies. I found the dressing quite bland as it was. Next time I make it I think I'll add some garlic and ginger, and possibly some more wasabi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States