California Roll Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Not bad. In place of the lettuce, I used Nori strips, but that was the only change I made. My coworkers weren't too crazy about it, but I thought it was alright. It was fun to try something different, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Tasted just like a Calf. Roll. I did use the iceberg lettuce, but cut into chunks and added seaweed strips to the top just before serving. I did double the dressing and added ginger to the rice. This was so different and delicious. I am craving it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This was FANTASTIC! We made this with nori strips instead of lettuce and added 3/4 cup of edamame. Will be making it again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Awesome! Great summer salad. I doubled the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Great new salad! I changed things and took suggestions from others... I used Romaine lettuce, put sesame seeds in the dressing, and since I didn't have wasabi powder, I used wasabi paste instead. I also used either basmati or long grain rice, since japanese rice or short grain can be too sticky to use. I put nori strips on top and fried wonton strips. Definitely a salad I would bring to a potluck to bring something different. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Tastes JUST LIKE a california roll! This makes a HUGE batch. We ate it for a few days, and then I was pretty sick of eating california rolls! Overall - great alternative to making actual sushi. I added edamame beans, nori sheets, and extra wasabi. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This is fantastic! I omitted lettuce and added roasted seaweed (nori)instead. My husband said this might be better than my hand rolls and that's saying a lot! We LOVE california rolls and I often make california hand rolls at home with roe. But I didn't add any roe to the salad but next time I think I will. This is sooooo good, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is a winner! I changed a couple things and think this dish is fantastic. I didn't use any lettuce at all. I wanted to use the seaweed but my local store didn't have any so I substituted some prepared seaweed salad. I actually think this is what made the dish, it added almost all of the flavor before any dressing was used. I winged the dressing, added seasame seeds and just tinkering with it until it tasted the way I wanted, I didn't have any wasabi but I could have went either way using it or not. I cooked my rice in my rice cooker and threw some in the fridge to cool, very important, use cool rice only. I will definitely make this time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This is really great!! I think the dressing is the best part cause you can use it on anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This was very, very good. I used red leaf lettuce instead of the iceburg, and added nori strips as others suggested. My husband used to work in a sushi bar a long time ago, and he said the flavor was very close to a California roll. I served it with Thai Chicken Tenders, and the salad was the best part of the meal by far. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States