California Roll Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Excellent! We did not use lettuce in our salad as it was a side for 3 very hungry people. Loved the dressing. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This was SOOOO good. I surprised my husband with it last night and when I brought it to him, he says 'WOW whats this - this smells like Sakora's (sp?)'. We loved it. I did not use the lettuce, but did put in about three leafs of shredded romaine; added two crumbled seaweed rolls, lots of toasted sesame seeds, and grated ginger. I also doubled the sauce,but did not use as much vinegar as called for. I did not have the powder and used a Wasabi Sauce I had, but it needed more hotness, so then we both individually added more real wasabi and a little salt to bring out all the flavors. Without the lettuce, it will not feed 6 more like 3 or 4 small eaters; so just be careful if you do not add the lettuce - allow for less servings. I would add more rice, just to make it stretch for more servings. But the flavor was wonderful. I had a very small bowl left over for lunch today and it was good. I think that without lettuce it was fine to serve the next day. Thank You for ths great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carousel-Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
In stead of the wasabi paste and sesame oil I used TJ's Wasabi Sesame Drizzlin Oil. This was delish! Will be making this again, and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Very tasty - goes stale fast - so eat immediately
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEE56

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I was a little worried about this recipe after some of the more recent reviews, but it is excellent. Made exactly as is, but topped it with some toasted nori and used wasabi paste rather than powder. As in any other salad, it's best to eat it right after its been tossed with the dressing, which we did. It was absolutely awesome and will have a heavy rotation at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RDZELLMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Loved it! Perfect as-is. And it looks like the picture adds nori on top... which i think would be a great addition! I'll be making this over & over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGOKIDD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Addicted. Really, I can't leave it alone after I've made it, and I've taken it to potlucks and it seems to have the same affect on others. I have subsequently tweaked a couple things (substitutions if I was out of something), but the original is the best. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
There is a good concept in this salad-just not as written (for me anyway). Maybe I'm just not a fan of rice-based salads, or maybe there was too much rice and not enough salad; but for some reason the rice just overpowered the salad. The dressing is delicious, and I would double next time so I had some to pour on before and during serving. Will try again, but am feeling the need to tinker with this a bit to make it something I'll love eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This is one of my favorite salads. It is so easy, different and tasty. I use the wasabi paste in a tube from the oriental food aisle or sometimes by the fresh salad section. I also add some sugared ginger sprinkled on top, and some grated ginger in the dressing. Sushi is all about the ginger for me! I usually don't mix in the lettuce, but put the salad on a bed of lettuce for people to take if they want. I also tried adding the sushi seaweed sheets chopped up and mixed in- did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciwizpc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
So this is not a good dish to bring to potlucks. It is delish and was a hit but in my opinion it is probably alot better when prepared and eatten right away. By the end of the day the bottom of the container was full of liquid so the chance of leftovers is not happening. I made this dish last night but didn't add the romaine until right before I left for work this morning. I right away knew this dish was not going to keep for long as it got alittle mushy. Again big hit and I'm being critical because I love to cook and no how to cook so everything is taste and presentation to me. Overall great dish just again I would not advise work functions or anything that requires this dish to sit for a period of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States