California Roll Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Very tasty - goes stale fast - so eat immediately
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEE56

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I was a little worried about this recipe after some of the more recent reviews, but it is excellent. Made exactly as is, but topped it with some toasted nori and used wasabi paste rather than powder. As in any other salad, it's best to eat it right after its been tossed with the dressing, which we did. It was absolutely awesome and will have a heavy rotation at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RDZELLMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Loved it! Perfect as-is. And it looks like the picture adds nori on top... which i think would be a great addition! I'll be making this over & over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGOKIDD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Addicted. Really, I can't leave it alone after I've made it, and I've taken it to potlucks and it seems to have the same affect on others. I have subsequently tweaked a couple things (substitutions if I was out of something), but the original is the best. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
There is a good concept in this salad-just not as written (for me anyway). Maybe I'm just not a fan of rice-based salads, or maybe there was too much rice and not enough salad; but for some reason the rice just overpowered the salad. The dressing is delicious, and I would double next time so I had some to pour on before and during serving. Will try again, but am feeling the need to tinker with this a bit to make it something I'll love eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This is one of my favorite salads. It is so easy, different and tasty. I use the wasabi paste in a tube from the oriental food aisle or sometimes by the fresh salad section. I also add some sugared ginger sprinkled on top, and some grated ginger in the dressing. Sushi is all about the ginger for me! I usually don't mix in the lettuce, but put the salad on a bed of lettuce for people to take if they want. I also tried adding the sushi seaweed sheets chopped up and mixed in- did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciwizpc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
So this is not a good dish to bring to potlucks. It is delish and was a hit but in my opinion it is probably alot better when prepared and eatten right away. By the end of the day the bottom of the container was full of liquid so the chance of leftovers is not happening. I made this dish last night but didn't add the romaine until right before I left for work this morning. I right away knew this dish was not going to keep for long as it got alittle mushy. Again big hit and I'm being critical because I love to cook and no how to cook so everything is taste and presentation to me. Overall great dish just again I would not advise work functions or anything that requires this dish to sit for a period of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Excellent! Be careful with the wasabi...you can always add more, but darn hard to 'dilute' once its added. This is a wonderful recipe; easy, fast, tasty! Perfect for my 12y.o. niece to make for her friends when they come over to do 'girl stuff' and have a sleep-over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I have become obsessed with this recipe and take it to any group event I'm invited to. Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe and it did tast like a California roll, but I preferred it with more rice and an extra dollop of soy sauce just before I ate it. (since I like to dunk my roll in soy sauce before eating)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIKATANIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States