California Roll Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This was everything I hoped it would be and then some! Delicious! It absolutely satisfied my craving for sushi. I used only half of the wasabi powder and I could not even really taste it. Next time, I will use the full amount. I also shredded up one sheet of Nori seaweed and it added an authenticity that I think I would have missed if I left it out. Thank you so much for this great recipe--this is a perfect summer time supper. We will be making it again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Made exactly as written...LOVED IT! I do roll my own sushi and what a great alternative to get the quick sushi fix...next time I will use the small salad salad shrimp(I dont care for the imitation crab). Thank you for the great summer recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
YUM, LOVE THIS! I did as others and used seaweed in place of the lettuce (I found a sesame oil roasted seaweed @ the grocery store), and that went perfectly. I only had 1 avocado, so that's all I used and I cut everything into small chunks just because. The dressing is wonderful and compliments the salad nicely. This really does taste like a California Roll!!!! This is gonna be a new salad staple @ our house~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
What a clever salad! You can enjoy the flavor of Californina Rolls without the work! I followed the recipe exactly and used the nori instead of lettuce adding about 1/3 cup pre-cut nori strips. I would make this again but I would use half the Sesame Oil in the dressing. Thought it was a bit overpowering but that could be a personal thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
What a great salad and such a nice change of pace. I didn't particularly care for the dressing *until* I tasted the salad - the rice absorbs the flavors beatifully. Making do with what I had (grin), I used romain and napa cabbage for my greens and then thinly sliced some leftover s&s chicken and tossed that on top. Perfect! Note to self: decrease sesame oil to 1/2 t, wasabe to 1 1/2, add 1 additional T mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This really tastes like California rolls! I left out the lettuce and only used 1 avocado. I did not use wasabi powder because I wanted my kids to eat it too. As suggested by others, I shredded dried seaweed (available at Asian market) and it really helped tie everything together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This salad is filling and YUMMY! Instead of using wasabi paste I added wasabi peas to the salad which gave it a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This was a great and easy salad! Finally, I can enjoy CA rolls without the work! I used way more rice than it called for: about 2 cups sushi rice. I will also cut back on the sugar a smidge next time. Other than that I will be making this a lot! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Awesome Recipe. I added a teaspoon more of mayo and teaspoon of Sriracha sauce to the dressing. I received rave reviews at a cookout. I think next time I will substitute brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdiionna
Home Town: Guilderland, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Absolutely delicious! This salad will definitely help to curb your sushi craving if you can't get to a Japanese restaurant. We grew up in large cities with lots of great sushi places but now live in rural New Mexico, where there is no sushi at all. So we make this every time we have the urge! There are a few things I would suggest to improve the ease and taste: 1. We don't add the lettuce leaves, we just make it a rice, veggie and surimi salad. 2. We always add about a teaspoon each of black and toasted white sesame seeds for a pretty and tasty touch. 3. According to your taste, matchstick carrots are another nice touch for added color and flavor. You won't be disappointed with this dish if you like California rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mutchie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States