California Plum and Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
ABSOLUTELY delicious! I had purchased about 10 pounds of plums at a great price, and after giving many away, I needed to find a recipe where I could use them. I altered the recipe as follows: I used red quinoa instead of the regular quinoa. I omitted the white vinegar (health reasons) as well as the flax seed oil (did not have any on hand). I used balsamic vinegar instead. I am not a fan of any kind of bellpepper. I use them Puerto Rican style, when I make sofrito. HOWEVER, I was brave and dared myself to enjoy the bellpeppers in this salad. Therefore, I used all three colors: Red, Green and Yellow bellpeppers. I chopped them all very fine, and I just absolutely could not even taste or feel them in the salad. Everything blended in perfectly. I will definitely make this salad again, hopefully with the flaxseed oil, and instead of the regular balasamic, I will use Pomegranate balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I LOVED this, but my boyfriend thought it was just OK; he's used to quinoa in more Mexican-inspired dishes. I was afraid the dressing would be too sweet, but it was deliciously tangy, and it complemented the rest of the flavors beautifully. I don't eat fresh fruit with grains, so I used dried cherries instead, which added a great texture and a nice contrast to the crunchy walnuts. I added a bit more pepper, and I didn't toast the walnuts. The only other change I'd make is to add a touch more green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Delicious! I halved the recipe and had plenty for a side at dinner and then some left over for two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CherylJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This was very refreshing on a hot summer day - I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This recipe is delicious! Next time I make it I will only use walnut oil. I think the olive oil was a bit too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I loved this recipe. It tasted amazing after sitting in the refridgerator overnight. I think this salad would be delicious as a fruit only salad with pine nuts and maybe a slightly sweeter dressing. Definitely a versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Nice light side dish, but a little bland. I didn't have flax oil so I used all olive oil, and substituted rice vinegar for the white wine vinegar. The toasted walnuts added nicely to the texture and flavor. I'll make it again but look for something to spice it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Delicious! I was looking for a nice quiona salad using ingredients I had on hand, and while this wasn't a perfect fit, I made it work. I didn't have any flax oil so I used all olive oil. I didn't have red or yellow peppers but I had orange so I figured that would work just as well. I never have walnuts on hand because my husband is allergic. I considered using pecans, but another reviewer used pine nuts, which I had, so I toasted them up and added them too. All in all, it was a delicious salad. I didn't have time to chill it properly, so I imagine it will be even better tomorrow for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I made a few changes since I was missing some ingredients. I used about 2 T. chopped yellow onion instead of green onion. I used red wine vinegar instead of white. I used pine nuts instead of walnuts. And I only used extra virgin olive oil, no flax seed oil. But it was still pretty good. My boyfriend didn't like it, it was too "California" for him. I think this is a good dish to take to a bbq, as the vinegar gives it quite a strong finish. If you can make it the night before, the flavors are better after it has been sitting for a while. Great recipe, and I'll make it again, even if for just lunch for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AELAINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States