California Peach and Almond Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
My family loved this - but I think the 1tsp of almond extract is too much. Next time I would use 1/2. I also substituted Splenda brown sugar blend for the brown sugar. Really easy to prepare, and quick too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
The topping was good and I liked the addition of the almonds. But the cornstarch was too much and made the peaches have a pasty instead of juicy texture. And 30 minutes was too long to bake this. The topping got a little too crunchy and the peaches were too overcooked. I'll use the topping part of this again but not follow the instructions for the peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I made this just as recipe states. My husband said it was the most fresh fruit dessert he had ever had -- not too sweet or too far away from the real peach flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRH in VA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Ok I made a lot of substitutions on this because I didnt have enough fresh peaches and we tend to like sweeter desserts...even if i had had all the peaches i still think i would have done it this way...it is very yummy and rich...also, though i think these additions would benefit the recipe regardless if you used fresh frozen or canned peaches which makes this a more universal quick put together..i appreciated how easy it was. ...here are the changes I made: FILLING I mixed a can of peach pie filling with some real peaches, increased the amount of brown sugar by 1/8 c, added 1/2 t. salt, used 1 t. vanilla extract and 1 t. maple extract in lieu of almon extract, a full teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/2 t. nutmeg, 1/4 t. ginger and 1/4 t. allspice. for the Topping i increased the oats to 3/4 c and the brown sugar to 1/2 c. I also used more like a half cup of sliced almonds on the top. everything else i kept the same. we served with ice cream. this was very yummy! :) Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I added 1/4 tsp of salt like one review said. I didn't peel the peaches and the whole things was great. This isn't a very sweet dessert and that I what my husband and I loved about it. However, my husband wishes there was more topping so maybe I will make a double topping next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerO

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
pretty good thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
try to use sugar cane melt to became caramel and forget brown sugar! too bitter and strong flavoured when heated! a bit of salt is a very good idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
not great recipe. Needs a bit of salt. Something else is missing but can't figure out what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLORADOKAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States