California Melt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I thought this was great. Very quick, easy, and healthy meal to fix after work. I read another review that said it needed some "schmear," and I agree with this. Next time, I may mash the avocados to make a spread to put on the bread first, or maybe dijon mustard. It just needed a sauce of some sort to bring it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I was just looking for something to do with 1 avocado, and I stumbled upon this recipe. It is lunchtime here, so I'd thought I'd give it a go. I did not have any mushrooms, so I had to omit those, but that was my only change. I really enjoyed this, though I thought it could use a little salt and pepper, but that's my personal preference. This made a great, healthy lunch! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Skipped the mushrooms & didn't have any sliced almonds around, so I smashed some whole almonds and it tasted delicious. My wife loved it too. Super quick, easy & delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This recipe is delish, easy and quick. I didn't use the nuts but I added turkey (from the deli) instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This is so different from the typical sandwich I eat. But, I love this one! It is so flavorful. I have made it with english muffins and flat bread. Be sure and toast is as the instructions say for the best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
MMMM, what tasty little creations! I decided to try this while hubby was out of town, he would not be too keen on this for dinner! I scaled the recipe down for just myself, but made 2 mini sandwiches. Like others, I sauteed my mushrooms in some garlic powder and fresh ground pepper. I used 2 small pieces of marbled rye bread, put dijon on one and a little mayo on the other. I left out the almonds as I only had whole ones. I really would have liked to have spread with hummus, but didn't have any made. Next time, I will do that for sure as I think that combo will be fantastic! I never would have thought to put these simple items together, but just loved it, they were excellent and I can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This was delicious! Followed other reviewers' advice and sauted the mushrooms with some garlic powder before putting the sandwiches together. The wife loved them, so I'll definetly be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Delicious and easy! I spread a thin layer of hummus on the bread and layered the mushrooms on top of that so they wouldn't fall out. Dijon mustard would work well too. I also salted the avocado and tomato. I used alfalfa sprouts instead of almonds, but I'll try it with the almonds at some point. Avocado and mushroom is one of my favorite combos, and the Swiss just adds that extra special something. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This has quickly become one of my favourite lunches of all time. Personally, i sauté the mushrooms in some butter and garlic for added flavour. I live in philadelphia so fresh baked hoagie rolls from my local bakery are my bread of choice (good bread is ALWAYS the key to a good sandwich). I just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wizard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I made this for my husband thinking he would like something healthy and wholesome, but it was definitely lacking in flavor. He liked all of the ingredients but it needs a meat item to tie it all together. I guess for a vegetarian, its a great option but for meat lovers, I would suggest using an alternative recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States