California Jalapeno Trout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This recipe does not tell you to add the jalapenos to the mango mix, so it was confusing as to what to do with them. I improvised and simply added them. I love the taste with the jalapenos, although I think a little salt goes a long way here. I would have given it a five, but the directions for the jalapenos was left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I love trout and our only complaint was having to fish the bones out... no pun intended, didn't have the mango and would love to see the way it would impact the flavor... using the meat in tacos.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This is my favorite way to have trout! It has awesome flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
fantastic recipe! It wasnt as spicy as I thought it would be either. However I used about 6 med-large pieces of trout, and only 2.5 jalapenos. Next time I would add 3 like the recipes calls for. I would also add more mango, as I couldnt really taste it. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Didn't think the Mango added a whole lot. The salsa didn't really do much imo actually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I have served fresh mango salsa with other fish before - char, salmon - but this is the first time stuffing and baking. Turned out well. Saved some of the fresh salsa to serve on the side just in case. Good stuff. About 3 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nongard1
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This was VERY good. I made it exactly as the instructions said, and it could not have been better! I love the mango/jalepeno mix...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nongard1

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I want to try this recipe since it has such great reviews but as I was compiling my shopping list I saw the recipe called for olive oil, which isn't in the recipe steps. Then as I was going through the steps, I saw lime juice, which isn't in the ingredient list. Then I went through the reviews and everyone was raving about the mango, which isn't listed anywhere. If anyone can explain the lime juice, olive oil and mango, I'd appreciate it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Made this last night--super easy and good. I didn't have mangoes but used oranges instead. Excellent! This was my family's first trout experience but we were all very impressed, even our 4 year old (mommy it has eyes!) LOL This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This was wonderful. We used filets instead of a whole trout (and the grilling time was under 10 minutes with two small filets per packet), and since mangoes couldn't be found, we used honeydew. I can see how mango would be tasty, but the honeydew also worked quite nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Jalapeno Hamburgers

Delicious hamburgers with a cheesy, spicy surprise in the center.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States